Need to hard reset but don't want to loose flash

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by gumdropz, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. gumdropz

    gumdropz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a droid eris flashed to metro pcs. I can't log into the market because i don't know the password. Is there any way i can delete the market account? I dont want to do a hard reset because i heard it gets rid of the flash.
     
  2. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
  3. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    If you are having problems getting into the market it is the same password as your Google password.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
     
  4. gumdropz

    gumdropz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like i said, i don't know the password. I bought the phone used.
     
  5. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +60
    When you get an Android phone you either have to sign in with your google account or create one. I assume it could be the same even if it has been flashed to another network. That google account then links to any thing you buy on the market. The question then becomes is your google account the one that is on the phone or is it someone else's. You can go into the settings and remove the google account or any account for that matter. Then sign in with your google account. Not sure if you have tried this yet?

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,013
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +374
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    You'll need to set up a Google account, remove the one on there, and put in your account. Simple enough.
     
  7. gumdropz

    gumdropz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The phone doesnt let me delete the original gmail account
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,013
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +374
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Have you tried putting your account in before deleting the other one? I'm unfamiliar with the Eris in general, to be honest, but I'd think that should allow you to delete the account. If you've already tried that then I'm at a loss.
     
  9. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    The original email account can only be deleted with a factory reset. Read up on those tutorials and be prepared to flash it back over to metro.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. ahmeda135

    ahmeda135 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    So did you ever figure out if the reset erase the flashing info? I have a hero, and am having a few problems with my messaging and phone apps constantly force closing. It was working great until I screwed with it. If I can get it back to where it was right after i had it flashed, that would be great. Let me know if you figured it out thanks
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,013
    Likes Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +374
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Is your Hero flashed to a specific carrier that you'd lose the programming if you hard reset it?
     
  12. gumdropz

    gumdropz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    didnt find out but i'll just reset it anyway and go get it flashed again
     
  13. ahmeda135

    ahmeda135 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    So did you have to get it reflashed or did it maintain the carrier settings?
     
  14. minh5942

    minh5942 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gumdropz
    How did you take care your droid login problem with the app Market? I have same problem. I don't know the password either. I also bought my droid X use. My droid is already flash to Metro PCS and everything run very smooth. I don't want to do Factory Data Reset. Because I don't want to lose Metro Pcs setup. Is there another way to correct this login problem to the market? I need help please. Anything, any advices, any ideas. Thank you in advance.
     
Search tags for this page
can a factory reset be done on a flashed cricket phone
,
can i factory reset a flashed phone
,

can you factory reset a flashed phone

,

factory reset flashed phone

,
factory reset on flashed phone
,
flashed phone factory reset
,
what happens if i factory reset a flashed phone
,
what happens if you factory reset a flashed phone
,
what happens if you hard reset a flashed phone
,

will factory reset remove flash