Need some "landmark" directions

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by djstinso, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. djstinso

    djstinso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction for a post or thread that talks about tethering a rooted droid to a ps3. I tried to use wireless tether to my ps3, and the console does not even recognise it. Can anyone give me some right left, right straight type direction.

    THANKS!
     
  2. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5
    PS3 cannot connect to an "AD HOC" network so it wont work

    this also applies to the xbox 360 and the wii

    besides the lag would be so bad you wouldn't even want to play.
     
  3. rcali001

    rcali001 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    Thanks for the info, but how do some say they boast about using close to 50gigs of data a month

    ...sent from my Rooted Droid 1 @ 1.25ghz using tapatalk
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Moved to the hacking section
     
  5. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5

    most do get those numbers by tethering to a laptop. the most ive ever gotten is about 8 gigs but then again i dont tether since i have an actual broadband card from verizon.
     
  6. djstinso

    djstinso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, first I guess umm.. AD HOC? no clue what you mean.. lol. I suppose then the definition of AD HOC could make this a stupid question but how does the ps3 know the difference when connecting wifi? I guess I just always had this thought of getting a wifi and playing on the ps3 in the car on vacation trips. Also um one of my on-line mates uses a wired broadband with 3g and he isn't that laggy at all. However it is 3g down and almost 1g up. I am not sure with the uprate of vz's 3g is



    EDIT: Sorry after re-reading my post I understand what ad hoc means, but in reference to droid internet, what makes it ad hoc?
     
    #6 djstinso, Oct 16, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  7. FranklinWalker

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so you find it right now?
     
  8. djstinso

    djstinso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, my ps3 can not even recognise the network. I just meant my cousinpays for 3 down 1 up. So why won't the ps3 even recognise the signal, or better yet, is there anyway to make it recognise the signal
     
  9. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5

    its not going to recognize the network no matter what you do.

    to answer your previous question. Ad-Hoc is something smaller wireless devices use to connect directly to one another because they don't have any switching ability like a router or network switch. Most network devices have the ability to see and connect to Ad-Hoc but gaming devices Wii/PS3/360 don't and for good reason to. While the network speed is there the ping rates are extremely slow thus causing serious lag almost to the point of making the games un-playable.


    there are ways around it but it requires buying more hardware(gaming adapter) to achieve this task... and in the end the game is still un-playable because the lag is still there.
     
  10. djstinso

    djstinso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you! I never gave any thought to ping rate. Still a bit heart broke over the ordeal but i will get over it
    Thanks for the advice
     
  11. itsSunnyB

    itsSunnyB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a mac, and you tether to it and share the connection on the ethernet port (will act like a bridge) you can problly share over the wireless on the mac (never tried it that way) ive done it plug in, but it does work, so go buy a 10000 dollar wifi bridge.... and the connection is horrible........ hit me up if u need help doing it this way.....

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  12. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5

    this is an option you can also do this with a PC.

    another option is to get a Linksys WRT54G router. they can be found for about 25 bucks then install the DD-WRT firmware on it then you can share that ad-hoc connection to other devices as a regular wifi signal.