Need some help here.....

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jeffandria, May 19, 2010.

1. jeffandria

jeffandria New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Followed the SPRecovery, backup and root instructions to a 't' and I keep getting the error
    "assert failed: write_raw_image("/tmp/boot.img"_
    "boot")
    E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip
    (status 7)

Now I already had the problem naming the file .zip.zip and I named it simply 'update' which is how I got further to this step. Now my phone is fine, but for some reason the root won't take? Obviously I'm quite new to this which is why I'm perplexed as to what I'm doing wrong.

2. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

Ratings:
    +12
    My sense is that the SPR install was not successful. If you still have the download on your computer make sure it is "update.zip" mount your phone, delete the "update" file move the "update.zip" from your computer to your sd card and reflash.

Mike

3. jeffandria

jeffandria New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I figured out how to put .zip on the file name w/o having .zip.zip, but I'm still unsuccessful. I followed the video on Video: Installing Stock 2.1 With Root Access | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog and I have no idea why this isn't working...still same error. I may just be mentally challenged, never had a phone like this one (I'm an ex BB storm 2 owner), but I have the superuser icon on my phone.....did it work?

4. mwhartman

mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

Ratings:
    +12
    First we need to determine that you have successfully installed SPR recovery. Turn your phone off. Open the slider and press the "X" and power. I believe this was covered at 3:30 on the video. If your phone does not have SPR then do not proceed until you have that installed.

I'm not positive but I'm thinking that you may have multiple update.zip files on your SD card. You can only have one. If you have more than one remove the oldest and try again.