need serious help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by davidjacobmorrison, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. davidjacobmorrison

    davidjacobmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    While trying to unroot my phone I have ran into some issues.

    1. I have some how denied myself access to my settings and everytime I try to get into my superuser permissions it force closes.

    2. I am using the clockwork rom manager and everytime I try to boot into recovery it tells me I don't have access. Even when I do the power+x to boot into recovery I can't see the menu at all.

    3. I can't make calls, but can receive them. Everytime I try to push my phone icon it tells me the phone application is not installed.

    Any help would be amazing!
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    1-if you unroot, ur superuser app isnt going to work.

    2-same thing here. CW needs root to work.

    3-did you delete something when you were rooted?

    and how are u unrooting? I assume you have the droid 1?
     
  3. davidjacobmorrison

    davidjacobmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it is the droid 1.

    I was using the youtube video from droid review. He had a tutorial on how to unroot and it was a zip file that he had to rename update, but when I ran it through and went into recovery it said it failed. So I went back to the clockwork rom manager and did a revert to the stock settings and that installed fine, but that's when I found out I couldn't get the settings to come up and the superuser quit working. I noticed this morning after church that there was no way for me to dial out, but can receive calls.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    if you got back to stock, id say do a quick factory reset to fix the dialing problem and see if that fixes anything.
     
  5. davidjacobmorrison

    davidjacobmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that, but when I tried to get into the recovery to do a factory reset all I saw was an exclamation point inside a triangle with the droid next to it. No usual menus or anything... any other suggestions? Is there away using a terminal emulator to bypass it or a program to fix everything I messed up?
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    press the camera button (i believe) when u get to teh ! point to get to stock recovery.
     
  7. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    You can do the factory data reset via the phone's menu system. Go here:

    menu -> settings -> privacy -> factory data reset

    And to enter the menu system on the factory recovery system, you hold the volume up button and the press the camera button.

    good luck
     
  8. davidjacobmorrison

    davidjacobmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Abe! You're the man! Got it back up and running. Stupid question: since I did the factory reset from stock does that mean I'm unrooted? Or do I need to do something else. Reason asking is my wireless tether and shoot me don't work. Haven't tried clockwork rom manager yet.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    factory reset does not remove root. but if you applied the stock update.zip then that would do it.
     
  10. davidjacobmorrison

    davidjacobmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that and got

    E:error in /sdcard/update.zip
    (Status2)
    Installation aborted

    Any thoughts?
     
  11. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    does it say anything else? and what update are you trying to apply?
     
  12. davidjacobmorrison

    davidjacobmorrison New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going to the android system recovery > selecting apply sd card update.zip

    Then it runs and when it gets to verify package it says that error message that I posted above