Need screen capture tool or key combo

Discussion in 'Motorola Xoom' started by jktechwriter, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. jktechwriter
    Offline

    jktechwriter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did a search of the forum but didn't find anything - sorry if this is a duplicate post.

    Does anyone know of a screen capture app that works on the Xoom? Does Honeycomb/Xoom have a key-combo to take a screen capture? (The Samsung Tab has one where you press the Power and Return button at the same time and a snapshot is taken.)

    I'm writing a book on the Xoom and will be more than happy to provide a thank you/acknowledgement to the person(s) who can help me resolve this issue - without screenshots the book isn't going to do too well!

    Thanks in advance,

    Jim
  2. jktechwriter
    Offline

    jktechwriter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    List of screen captures tools I've tried

    Just an addenidum - these apps DO NOT work:

    *screenshot (from GIKSoft)
    * Screen Capture (from tomorrowkey)
    * Screen Capture (from CJR)
  3. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you root then drocap2 is an option that has always worked on my other devices, I wont be rooting my xoom until after the 4G upgrade though
  4. jktechwriter
    Offline

    jktechwriter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No rooting allowed

    Hi, Newton.

    Yes, I 've seen a few articles on rooting the Xoom to allow for this, but I can't root my Xoom either due to the 4G update. My publisher also prefers that I not root the device as they prefer books to be based on the default build/device that a reader is likely to own.

    Thanks for the app reference, though...

    Jim
  5. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    well you can take screenshots using the android sdk, its not an app, but it is something that anyone can download without rooting their device, so that may suit your needs, its definitely a complicated work around but its the only "official" way that i know of

    first thing i found when googling http://www.androidcentral.com/taking-screenshots-without-root
  6. 3083joe
    Offline

    3083joe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Drocap2 doesnt work either
  7. WillC
    Offline

    WillC New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    In /system/bin I saw screencap and screenshot listed. Could that indicate that there is some undocumented method of taking screen shots?
  8. jktechwriter
    Offline

    jktechwriter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Possible?

    Hi, Will... thanks for posting.

    I think it's very strange that the Honeycomb devs wouldn't build in some sort of method for taking screen caps. You're discovery of that folder makes sense, doesn't it?

    The Galaxy Tab (which I have) had native screen capture ability built-in - you press the Power/Sleep button at the same time as the Return/Back button and "click" - screen cap!

    But I've tried various button combinations with the Xoom and so far... no luck.

    Jim
  9. jktechwriter
    Offline

    jktechwriter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Solution found

    It's not the easiest way to take a screen capture, and it only saves in PNG format, but here's how I did it (I can't take credit for it - a dev friend of mine helped me get through the errors that popped up here and there). I'm running Vista Home Premium 64-bit

    1. Installed latest version of Java
    2. Installed latest version of Java SDK
    3. Installed Android SDK
    4. Within Android SDK, selected Android 3.0 build.

    5. Opened up command prompt and jumped to the \tools directory for the SDK app (for me, it was c:\programfiles(x86)\android\android-sdk\tools

    6. Ran the ddms.bat file
    7. Got an error pop-up saying Xoom driver couldn't be found.
    8. Googled "Vista Xoom Driver" and found the official driver installation program at

    USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola Mobility, Inc. USA

    9. Restarted SDK after driver installed.
    10. Ran ddms.bat (see 6 above)
    11. Attached Xoom (a lot started to happen in the ddms.bat screen)

    12. Clicked the Device menu- select Screen Capture... BOOM! Done!
  10. 3083joe
    Offline

    3083joe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    there was a key combo for screen shots on galaxy tab, sure to think theres one on xoom
  11. jktechwriter
    Offline

    jktechwriter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No button combo

    I placed a call to Motorola tech support and they confirmed there is no button combination for screen capture.
  12. WillC
    Offline

    WillC New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    Thanks for the confirmation. Guess I can stop mashing button combos now!
  13. 3083joe
    Offline

    3083joe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    Thanks for the info
    dancedroid
  14. kennyc
    Offline

    kennyc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Could be due to the lack of hardware buttons.....
  15. BigRich93
    Offline

    BigRich93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Screenshot ER. Download it it works
Similar Threads
  1. MrMan
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    3,613
  2. lawdawg06
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    864
  3. cleave
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    29,283
  4. Kobe24
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    923
  5. siohwito
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    627
Loading...
Search tags for this page
/system/bin/screencap
,
android 2.3.4 motorola screen capture
,
droid charge screen capture key command
,
how do i take a screen capture on a motorola milestone x
,
how to screen capture in motorola xt914
,
how to screenshot galaxy zoom tablet
,
how to take a screen shot with the motorola xoom tablet
,
how to use screen capture on verizon motorola
,
milestone x2 button combo
,
motorola zoom cap screen
,

screen capture motorola xoom

,

screen capture on xoom

,
xoom print screen
,
xoom screen capture
,
xoom screencopy