1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Need ROM for my droid with saphire 1.0 for wi-fi tether

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by shiznic, Aug 19, 2010.

1. shiznic

shiznic New Member

I am new to the rooted droid scene. I tried to do the ota update to 2.2 this morning and it failed. verizon and motorola was no help so i took matters into my own hands and downloaded the saphire 1.0 froyo and love it. ccroms.net is the website for Saphire 1.0. anyways.... i guess i need a kernel for the wifi tether abilities to work. anyone know of a good one to use? or any advise on what i am doing wrong. tried using Barnacle tether app in the market. not working. really wanting to do the wifi thing for when i travel with the Xbox. or for my laptop. HELP a newb.dancedroid
  2. Salieri

Salieri New Member

Sapphire will work.

Go to the market and search for "Wireless Tether." Download Wireless Tether for Root Users by Muller Lemons and Buxton.

It is pretty easy to use. I liked barnacle, but I just couldn't get it to work since froyo.

Let me know if you get it to work.
  3. shiznic

shiznic New Member

thanks for the information. it works like a charm now.dancedroid wife will be jealous. her droid is not rooted.
  4. Salieri

Salieri New Member

Great I'm glad it works. The wifi tethering is one of the best part of rooting. Remember to keep an eye on your usage. People say to stick around 5gbs a month even if you have an "unlimited" plan... though personally I've never read about anyone saying they've had a problem with Verizon.

My wife was very much afraid to do it too until she saw how great mine was.