need major help

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by x25064, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. x25064

    x25064 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is a duplicate of a thread I put in the hacking section but I feel it would get exposure here and I really need someone to help me asap because I am without a phone right now:

    Tried loading a rom, wiped and formatted system, accidentally hit reboot device, now its just stuck on the google screen. I rooted using the directions here, but read elsewhere that clockwork mod is only temporary if you download it from rom manager?? I tried launching into clockwork and it says "downloading do not turn off target"

    So am I screwed here? If so.. what do I do now.
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,057
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,642
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I got clockwork onto my phone using ROM Manager and have had no problems since. Does it actually download when you try relaunching clockwork?
     
  3. GoBears

    GoBears Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Can you get to bootloader?
     
  4. zyork

    zyork New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah nvm didn't realize you were loading a from. Thought you were just unlocking boot loader

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. GoBears

    GoBears Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    If all you did was format the system then your bootloader should be intact and you should be able to restore the stock 4.0.2 images.
     
  6. x25064

    x25064 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thats what I ended up doing. I didn't realize that it would work like that, I just followed the returning to stock thread up to step 8, then flashed clockwork again. What I don't understand is why I bootlooped in the first place. Its not like I did anything to modify the stock rom.
     
  7. GoBears

    GoBears Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    You formatted /system then accidently hit reboot. That's what caused your bootloop. Once you format /system you need to flash something there because that's what takes over after the bootloader. That's why it wouldn't go past the google screen.