Need Help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by johnwayne30, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. johnwayne30

    johnwayne30 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so heres the problem. I was trying to install a new font on my Droid using Terminal Emulator. Everything was going fine until I typed a line of code and got an error. The error wasnt big it just said the file I specified didnt exist. So I tried to go into my sdcard using Astro file manager and rename the file, but when I did my phone froze then went to the bootlogo screen. I was gonna let it reboot but it just kept looping on the bootlogo screen. So I pulled the battery and tried again but it did the same thing. So I thought to just restore it but it wont let me get to Recovery. The only thing I can access on it at all is the bootloader. Any thing I can do??
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Can you restore a backup?
     
  3. johnwayne30

    johnwayne30 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I already tried. It wont let me boot into recovery
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If you are positive that all you can do is access the boot loader then you may need to re root by installing the SBF.
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    What happens when you try to access recovery?
     
  6. johnwayne30

    johnwayne30 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats what I was thinking. Is it possible this is all because of the font I was installing? its in ttf format so I dont understand why it wouldnt be compatible
     
  7. johnwayne30

    johnwayne30 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hold x while powering on but it just freezes at the motorola logo
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Yeah, you're at SBF stage, no doubt about it.
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That is my sense.
     
  10. johnwayne30

    johnwayne30 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    well that sucks haha. but its better than nothing. thanks for the help
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    All need not be lost, however. If you can use MotoCache's SPRecovery SBF to get into recovery you can flash a rooted ROM or even restore your backup if you were using SPR. If not, flash a ROM (CM would give you ROM Manager already so you could just use that to flash Clockwork), flash Clockwork, and then reboot and restore the backup you made right before messing with the fonts. :)

    Otherwise, well, starting over sucks but at least you're not totally FUBAR.
     
  12. johnwayne30

    johnwayne30 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok now I have another problem. I tried the SBF and it didnt work. I installed SPrecovery and tried everything, Wiped data and cache, restore, everything. But it didnt work. So what now?