Need help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by msu, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got my cert replacement phone (D1) Has 2.2 FRG22D

    downloaded droidmod updater 12, did what it said, clicked root my phone and got into recovery. Ran the update.zip and get error. something about signature

    Am I rooted, can I just use rommanager to reinstall my old rom?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    dmupdater12 will not work on FRG22D. Shame, shame, we discuss this many times.

    This is the only way I know that a droid with FRG22D can be rooted: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html
     
  3. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah sorry about that. Thought it could be but have not went through every page. Been rooted for so long I haven't even paid attention. Thanks for the link.
     
  4. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, I see what I need, to bad my net is down at my house right now. Will have to wait a few days.
     
  5. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    download it on your phone and transfer it to your computer.
     
  6. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Of course.. once you are rooted.. you can tether :dancedroid:
     
  7. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had to work all last night, just going to download the files here at work then shift them over. I tried last night with my D1 and it kept failing to get to where RSD lite is.
    I will get what I need either way, just might take a little time.
     
  8. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rooted..... Thx for the link. I couldn't wait and used my works resources. Hope they don't mind.
     
  9. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I got my D1 2.2 rooted again thanks to above. I got it all set up again with UD8.0 back on and all my other stuff except a theme. I loaded clockwork and did a back up of what I had, then flashed sp recovery back on and tried to do a Nandroid and it keeps locking up at dumping .tar.. It has locked up on two different .tars. I decided to use rsdlite and reflash sprecovery just to make sure it was flashed right and all that went well. I went to do a simple back up again in spr and again it is stuck dumping system.tar?????

    Am I missing something here?? Not sure why it would be locking up.

    On another note, after I got it rooted and everything loaded back on, I tried to re isntall my back up of clockwork backup and it was a no go. Kept getting boot loops. I even wiped data and cache. So i just back to stock and started all over. Phone is running fine, just can't make a nandroid backup.
     
  10. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pinetop, AZ
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Have you tried doing a nandroid backup with clockworkmod recovery?
     
  11. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I can make a backup in clockworkmod. I just want a second backup in SPR just in case. When I went to load my rom back up from clockwork on this new phone after I rooted it, it just locked up the phone. roms wouldn't run. So I had to start fresh again.
     
  12. xkape

    xkape Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    From inside ROM Manager... Flash to "alternate recovery"...flash to "alternate recovery"... flash to "alternate recovery"... flash to "alternate recovery.

    Repetitive I know.