Need help with wifi connecting

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Ansa82, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all, newbie here. I just got a Motorola Bionic today!! Before I post on the "introductions" board can anyone help me with setting up my wifi? I went from a HTC incredible so I feel like a dum dum and know it should be very easy and self explanatory but it's not working. I've gone under settings-wireless& networks-wifi settings etc... It recognizes my router,
    but when I click on my network it keeps trying to connect over and over...so it's going connecting, connecting, disconnecting,
    disconnecting. Been doing this for hours now. I've turned the wifi on and off several times to no avail. At one point it
    did ask me for a password...I
    Don't think I entered the correct password but I cannot get back to entering a password again. Help?
    Thanks!! Ansa82
     
  2. Grapthar

    Grapthar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try unplugging your router for about a minute, then plug it back in. I had this problem with my Bionic, the Droid X before it, my wife's iPhone 4, my iPad 2 and my wife's iPad 2. Every time, the only thing that worked was unplugging the router. Without changing anything, after I plugged it in everything just worked.
     
  3. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok I will give that a try...thank you!!!
     
  4. Lgray69

    Lgray69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chattanooga TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like your router has a password it won't connect unless you enter the password or take it off your router and have open connection..( I wouldn't do that though)..

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  5. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    But how to enter my password again??
    I cannot find on phone where i can enter router password

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok if i tell the phone to forget this router them it allows me to re enter password...still connecting, disconnecting. So wierd. Turning router off and back on didnt work either

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. Grapthar

    Grapthar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    First question: did you turn it off or UNPLUG it? It does make a difference.

    Second question: do you use MAC address filtering? Sometimes people forget to add a new device's MAC address to their list.
     
  8. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont use a mac address
    And yes i turned it off and unplugged it...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  9. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Have you tried to reset your router? My router has a button on it that you can hold then it will reset everything back to default settings.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes I reset the router...it did fix my comcast tv remote that had stopped working...but still no wifi connecting to phone
    Gonna see when hubby gets home if he actually wrote password down somewhere. I'm hoping it's a password issue but it's not telling me that so I don't know :(
     
  11. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Well, resetting your router should reset the password as well but just in case it doesn't, hopefully your husband will have it handy. Let us know how it turns out.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  12. Ansa82

    Ansa82 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    YES...FINALLY SUCCESS!!! After about the 4 th time unplugging & resetting it picked it up!! I finally have wifi !! Thank you everyone!
     
  13. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    That's great! Glad you got it working:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
android change wifi password
,
android reset wifi password
,
bionic wont connect to wifi remote storage
,
can't connect droid bionic phone to wireless network
,

droid 2 global wont connect to wifi

,
galaxy s3 won't connect to xfinity wifi
,
how to reboot router on droid bionic
,
how to reset the wifi settings on my htc droid
,
how to reset wifi on incredible 2
,
why wont my htc incredible pick up wifi