Need help with updating to .596 from .588

Dudenell

Reaction score
Alright please excuse me as I'm new. I read a tutorial on how to update to gingerbread via this site when the first leak came and now I'm totally clueless as to updating to .596

So far what I know is that im on .588 and I'm on radio .12p

Please forgive me as i'm not good with terms and don't know very many when it comes to android rooting / hacking / updating.

From what I understand I'm suppose to download update.zip
place it in my root directory of the phone, then boot into recovery mode and update.

Well I cannot get into recovery mode... I hit the home + power button when starting up and get the exclamation but it refuses to do anything after I hit the search key (sticks at screen). Any ideas?

Edit: OK so update. I figured out they changed it to the power button for select / volume keys to enter but I'm getting an error on install saying update failed. any ideas on what to do now?

leonozug

Reaction score
Ok man are you rooted .588 or the stock .588 build? I take it you are on the stock .588...if you tried doing it in stock recovery the reason it failed is because you have to be on bone stock 2.2.1 froyo for that update.zip to work. You would have to SBF your X and do a factory reset for it to work properly. Your phone will be like new out of the box afterwards and that update.zip will work fine.

Your other option is using Gingerbreak 1.2 to root your stock .588, then install the Droid 2 bootstrap and go in to clockwork recovery and install the deodexed or the odexed rooted zips found on the Mydroidworld site. That would probably be easier in case you have never SBF'd your phone before.

bcc12345

Reaction score

So in this case (similar to mine).. would waiting for 6/1 manual download be advisable? Or would we not be able to download it even then?
Thanks!
(assuming we're on non-rooted .588)

OP
D

Dudenell

Reaction score