1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Need Help with Rooting and Backing up

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by codyjames408, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. codyjames408
    Offline

    codyjames408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i followed this guide
    READ THIS FIRST - If you want to ROOT, flash ROMs, Kernels, etc

    i ran the update and got the super ninja icon..

    and i went through everything up to step 2 installing a custom recovery
    "dd if=/sdcard/flash_image of=/data/local/flash_image"

    i get a user permissions error when i try to run that.

    guessing i need to re do it? but im not sure how or the right way to do that

    thanks!
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Wait a second. Is this the incredible we're talking about?
  3. codyjames408
    Offline

    codyjames408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry its the moto droid
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    lol....that thread you got the directions from the post was made by an admin that said "Incredible Administrator." I thought maybe you followed some directions for the Incredible that were new.

    Just out of curiosity, what ROM are you installing?
  5. codyjames408
    Offline

    codyjames408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh no, i just want 2.2 i think, but i just found bugless beast and that looks pretty cool
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    OK...I can help you with Froyo. I think that BB at this time isn't a good choice. I'm only saying that because of the amount of issues people have popping up.

    You already have SPRecovery installed, correct? And have you done a back up?
  7. codyjames408
    Offline

    codyjames408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im not sure, if thats the menu that you hold X to get to yeah i have that
  8. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    don't bother with that.

    Download Rom manager (free) it sucks but is good for one thing, flashing recovery

    Open Rom manager and do, I think the only option, flash clockwork mod recovery, let it do it's thing, don't know if it has to reboot or not, but when it's done go into Rom manager again and scroll down to "flash alternate recovery" when that is done you will have SPRecovery 0.99.3b
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    OK then at this point boot into recovery holding the X. Use the volume button to navigate through the menu and go to backup/recovery. Use the camera button and press. Then do a back up of your current OS.
  10. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Wait do you have stock, SPrecovery or Clockwork 'cause from your 1st post it looks like you were trying to manually flash SPR
  11. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Hook, I think he might have stock recovery
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Oh....he said he was able to get into SPRecovery. Is that not so? He's already rooted, he has Superuser.
  13. codyjames408
    Offline

    codyjames408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm i got this phone last week and it had 2.1update1 and i went to 2.0.1

    ill try that rom manger thing out right now
  14. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    You get to stock recovery same way and by his op it looks like he was manually trying to flash SPR and havig issues
  15. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    If when you hold x and turn power on then after you get M logo you get Yellow triangle exclamation point thing (haven't seen it in so long don't remember)you have stock recovery and need to do Rom manager
  16. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Hmmm...I see that it rolled him back to 2.0.1. That's not how I did it, I went straight from 2.1 to RSD Lite/SPRecovery and then just restored Froyo. After back up and wipe, of course.
  17. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    True, but his op just threw me for a loop.
  18. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If he is still at 2.1 he can get Froyo without getting ROM manager.
  19. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    That's the way I would do it again to but RSD gives some people fits.
  20. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Sorry, didn't mean that was the only way. Just an option