Need help with root!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by Droid2G-0369, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have decided to finally root a device. I have done much research, but just couldnt take the plunge with my D1. I just got back to the states after being overseas for six months and i got a D2 Global. I have made the decision to root. I tried Z4 root and that didnt work. Yesterday i spent all day trying to do it through my mac terminal with no success. I need some help. I really want to root. I have gone through all of the trouble shooting for the mac 1-2-3 root and i was doing everything right it just wouldnt take. Someone with patience and knowlege with macs please help!
     
  2. Swirly

    Swirly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well they just came out w/ a update for the D2G and u should update 1st then try z4root again... i had the same problem and it worked just fine* got my droid 2 global 3days ago* :-D

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  3. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the update this morning. But I dont have z4 root and they took it of the market.
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can get z4root at xda

    google z4root xda and you'll find the thread that has the apk attached

    tappin and a talkin
     
  5. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    once i download that apk how do i install it on my phone and run it?
     
  6. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is z4 root and the 1-2-3 root the same thing? Do they give superuser ability to the same apps ?
     
  7. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Both will give you super user access

    If you download z4root you can do so either on your phone or on your computer but either way just place the apk on your sd card and use a file manager to find the file. Once you find it if you click it it will bring up the option to install it.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  8. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK thank you. I am trying that now. I hope this works i have been trying to root my phone for three days. I am learning though.
     
  9. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just tried to download the file but i think they removed it cause it wont go on my phone
     
  10. timrenzi573

    timrenzi573 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can't download it in the browser, it's finicky about downloading apk files. download on your computer and copy it over with usb.
     
  11. Droid2G-0369

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted (or at least I think I rooted) with z4 thank you guys for your help. Now I can't seem to load any Roms I have been trying with RM. Should I get bootstrap instead? And what are some good Roms and where do I get them? Sorry for all the dummy questions.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
     
  12. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will need to pick up the d2 bootstrapper to flash roms. The only one available for the d2g is fission, and currently there is no sbf. Proceed with caution and do a lot of research so you know what you're doing first.

    tappin and a talkin
     
Search tags for this page

root galaxy s4 ã¨nmac