need help with regaining root after ota update?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by wildride89, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    first off, any help is appreciated. so, like many of us i was rooted earlier today. I looked at my phone earlier in the day and the update was coming to my phone. i decided to go ahead and install it, and i figured that i would lose root and i did. I have tried pete's motorola tools twice and it claims to have successfully rooted my phone, but the phone remains unrooted. Does anyone have any ideas why the tools would say that things are ok, but in fact the phone isnt. Yes, i have usb debugging enabled.
  2. mbaker
    Offline

    mbaker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I unrooted before applying the update them rooted again after, and it worked fine. Did the tool go through the whole 3-step, 3-reboot process?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. mrcastillo
    Offline

    mrcastillo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tn
    pull the battery out then see if it does the trick if not try again. if not download pete's toolbox again
  4. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Yes it went through the 3 step and im going to try and pull the battery now before work. I had to download petes tools again because it said the first time I tried to run it that it was missing the adb exe file. I thought that was odd because it did root my phone the other day.
  5. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Well, I pulled the battery and tried the root process again. It still says on the tools that it went through but when I try any root reqd app they say that no root is established. Im thinking the ota patched the exploit. Any other ideas?
  6. wildride89
    Offline

    wildride89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    I've been playing a little bit on my phone since I got home from work. I uninstalled the updated superuser apk and when I did that I noticed that the old apk was still on the phone. I checked the phone and did petes tools again and I got root back. Im assuming my phones problem was with the new apk. I don't know anyhow its back thanks for any help

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. TomSr
    Offline

    TomSr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Glad you got it fixed! :icon_ banana: