Need help with my Eris

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by RuE, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had enough of it. Constantly scrolls to the left freezing etc.
    I want to root it and see if that will work. I have a few questions first about compatibility and stability. Will it work with market apps and does the market still work? I use PDANet is that going to get affected. I also use my camera a lot how is that going to work out? Also can someone give me a like to root my phone with the best working rom.
  2. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    :welcome: to the board. Quickly to answer your questions,
    1. Yes and yes. If you go with a FroYo ROM, you will find more apps in the market, but look at the answer to question 3.
    2. Many ROMs have tethering built in, and you will also have the ability to WiFi tether after rooting.
    3. Many of the FroYo (2.2) ROMs have camera and dropped calls issues, some people have had luck flashing different kernels, your luck will depend on your phone.
    4. There are 2 stickies, one is rooting your phone, the other is the start of a list of ROMs. I have ran plainjanet2 (2.1) on my wife's phone with minimal issues, mainly redraws and launcher crashes. Currently, I have the dual boot 2.1-2.2 ROM on her,phone, and short of the apps not restoring on the 2.2 side of the ROM, it is flawless.
    Good luck, and don't hesitate to ask questions.


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well Im at work right now and my sgt said we're gettin a longer lunch today how long does the process take and how big is the download and wut froyo Rom do yu recommend

    Sent from my Eris using DroidForums App
  4. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    It will take longer to find and download the "Eris 1 click root" app, than it will to root your phone. Id recommend the dual boot ROM, but that takes a while to set everything up.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can it be done in 2 hours

    Sent from my Eris using DroidForums App
  6. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't want to open a new thread but do those antenna boosters actually work

    Sent from my Eris using DroidForums App
  7. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Sorry. Yeah, if you can set up abd right the first time, you can do it in less than 2 hours. After getting abd set up, backing up and restoring your SD card after you partition it takes the longest. I don't know about the antenna boosters though.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It works great but is there a fix for the data problem is there a data problem on 2.1 rooted
  9. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    What have you done to your phone so far?
  10. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    kaosfroyo v38 i had the cpu tuner and a few other apps but i just reflashed v38 but its still losing the 3g/data
  11. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
  12. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there a way to dual boot like half rooted kaosfroyo and half stock rom?
  13. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Download CFSv8 from here.

    2.6.29.6 CFS Kernel V4" i do go with v8 right
  14. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    yes, version 8 is the latest version. No, the Dual Boot ROM is the only one of its kind as of right now,
  15. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay ill do the *228 and update it then do the kernel
  16. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    might have to update again after the kernel too, not sure.
  17. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do i update roaming capabilities or program/activate
  18. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    do both, it cant hurt...lol
  19. RuE
    Offline

    RuE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ugh i cant flash the kernel cuz my trackball wont scroll down so when it press it its on reboot
  20. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    If you mess with the usb plug, your track ball "should" work. Lay your phone flat, and plug in the usb cable about half way.