Need help with mp4 converter

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by mjp81, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. mjp81

    mjp81 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm using WinAVI MP4 Converter to convert avi files to mp4, and I want to know the optimal settings for the Droid, if there are any. I did download HandBrake, but when I try to convert with it, it shows me the "encountered an error and has to shut down" message.

    On WinAVI, there are advanced settings for video size, video frame rate, video bitrate, audio bitrate, and audio sample rate. The advanced tab does also show the size and various bitrates of the original video file. What has happened on my first few attempts was having videos fore close on the Droid, which I believe I solved by choosing the "keep the same frame rate" option before converting. There is also a "keep same video size" option. Also sometimes after transferring an mp4 to the Droid, the audio will be slightly off from the video, even thought its perfectly aligned when watching it on my computer.

    What I want to do is make sure that the video is playable, is synced with the audio, and has the best video quality while minimizing the file size. How should I approach the settings to best do this? Are there universal optimal settings for the Droid, or should I base them somehow on what the video files' setting are?
     
  2. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of people will recommend DVDCatalyst (including me). It's not free but it's a great program.

    I think quality will depend a lot on the source file, but some good settings from DVDCatalyst are the following:

    854x480
    800 kbps
    128kbps sound quality
    framerate 30
    conversion format h264

    with those settings, the videos look great and run really well so you may want to start there.

    Also, I am not sure if Handbrake actually supports AVI to MP4. It might be DVD only, I don't remember.

    There are also some higher quality settings, but I can't access them right now.
     
    #2 Houndstooth, Jan 22, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  3. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    the best $10 on software I have EVER spent.... DvdCatalyst FTW!


    -=Jason=-
     
  4. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Handbrake is free, works very well for me. Just click the ipod legacy setting and you're good to go. No more setting adjustments really needed.
     
  5. BartJJ

    BartJJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i personally use winFF its not the fastest i guess nor is it prob the easiest to use but it gets the job done and its free so :)
     
  6. medlong1

    medlong1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can Handbrake convert one of the new dvd's such as Wolverine? I've tried various settings, including ipod legacy, but it always comes out very choppy. (Large red & green pixels mixed w/ video)
     
  7. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    It should be able to, I've converted all of my movies with it and never had any trouble with it. Maybe someone with a little more technical knowledge could chime in though and help optimize the settings. Did you interrupt the conversion process or anything like that?
     
  8. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are burning right from DVD, you will probably need some type of DVDdecryption software like AnyDVD to get past the protection on your legally owned DVDs. :)
     
  9. fLiP SiD3

    fLiP SiD3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago , Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have wasted countless hours trying to configure HANDBRAKE using all the settings that everybody recommends..........and for nothing. I am somewhat tech savy and I know what I am doing , but , only to fail.
    UNTIL I ran into DVD CATALYST 3 , it is ONLY $10 and believe me .....if I didnt have to spend any money I wouldn't , but , after using just the trial , I was immediately sold on that software. It has already a pre-setting for the DROID device and all you have to do is set it to DROID and your pretty much done. Quality and sound is excellent and the conversion time is 2x faster than Handbrake. With Handbrake it took me 2 1/2 hours to convert a movie that took only 1 1/2 hours on DVD CATALYST 3

    For those of you that have had success with HANDBRAKE , good for you you are $10 richer than I am
     
    #9 fLiP SiD3, Jan 25, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2010
  10. Guurzak

    Guurzak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Handbrake does not include a DVD decoder, so you need to run a decoded in parallel with the Handbrake rip. I use DVD43 which is a freeware decoder library. Once installed you don't have to do anything differently, DVD43 just sits in the background and decodes transparently while the DVD is being ripped.
     
  11. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    thats weird, I converted star wars episode III straight from the dvd. Maybe the security or whatever on that particular dvd is less than others. Still though, I'm interested in dvd catalysts speed difference. Maybe I'll give it a go
     
  12. Glock

    Glock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a little late to the topic but I use DVD Shrink (free) to create ISO files of my legally owned DVDs and then use MagicISO to virtually mount them and rip them with either Handbrake (trying for the 1st time as I type this) or WinX DVD Ripper Platinum (got it during the free promotion...wOOt). WinX has served me very well so far. About a 40 minute process from ISO to MP4. It'd probably be faster if my laptop wasn't over 2 years old...:icon_ lala:
     
Search tags for this page
avi to mp4 converter droid
,
droid forum mp4
,
green pixels on handbrake download
,
handbrake green pixel
,

handbrake green pixels

,
optimal setting coverting avi to mp4
,
what video frame rate should i use winavi
,
winavi android
,
winavi mp4 to dvd choppy
,
winavi settings galaxy tab