Need Help Upgrading on a Family Plan

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by DroidXDoes4G, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Oh, ok. I get it. So when your phone failed, rather than getting a refurb as a warranty replacement, they gave you the option to get a new handset for a fee plus a contract extension?
     
  2. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yea.

    One more question.

    If I move the upgrade to my line, can i still go to wirefly and buy an upgrade for my line?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    From what I understand, wirefly and amazon cannot do alternate upgrades. To go through Wirefly, the upgrade has to be on your line. You would need to upgrade your wife's line since the upgrade is on there, but then you would need to leave the phone on her line for 6 months or you will get hit by Wirefly's ETF penalty. You can only do alternate upgrades through Verizon (not sure but I think Best Buy may be able to do alternate upgrades as well).
     
  4. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Go through Costco using the phone that has the eligible upgrade. Costco's prices are cheaper sooner, they will throw in a few accessories for free and when you get the phone, you can activate any number you want without any penalties. Wirefly, Amazon and many others do not allow this. Verizon and Costco do.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  5. fishhelmet

    fishhelmet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can also do it at staples, its the same company as the one at costco. Didn't get any free acessories though.......

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  6. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Boy, if that's the case, Staples may be easier being that there are Staples stores all over the place, especially if they offer the same prices... you could go do it personally in the store rather than online and they probably would do it the same as Verizon would ( use the family member's upgrade but activate the phone on your number).

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
  7. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, but if i switch the upgrade to my line through VZW, will it show up on Wirefly as me being upgradable?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK thanks.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    -EDIT- nvm

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    1,800
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +2,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    That I'm not sure but I think you can. The best thing to do would be to call Costco and ask. They were great when I called them. Also, if Staples and Costco are the same, then you can probably go into a staples store and purchase the phone on your eligible upgrade and activate your phone on the new phone without getting a separate data plan. I know you are able to do that at Verizon.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

costco alternative upgrade verizon

,
costco verizon transfer upgrade
,
family plan verizon but costco pay