need help rooting to newest Froyo.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by joemustang, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. joemustang

    joemustang Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So im on the 57 build and I want to go to the 84. Download: FRF84B Froyo Droid Build with Dev Kernel - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog


    OK so my phone is stuck in a boot loop. What do I do??? I followed the directions from the link above. it downloaded clockswork thing and then after that i rebooted and went to rom manager and click on install from SD card, and then clicked on the File from the link above. I only placed that file in the root of my SD card, did not unzip or rename it or anything.. is that correct? is it suppose to go in the clockwork folder I'm seeing on here? Also I did not do a clear data and factory reset since the website said I do not need to. is that the problem? I just did a nandroid backup which took a really long time but I'm back to build 57 now. Any Ideas on what I'm doing wrong??

    I'm on Windwos 7 FYI
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2010
  2. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I would go back and do a full wipe before the install.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. joemustang

    joemustang Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok. but also do i have to rename that file to "update"? and where do I place the File on the SD card? In the root or in a specific folder? I'm looking on multiple forums and I'm getting different answers.
     
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    If are going to use SpRecovery change the file name to update.zip. don't rename if using clockwork. In either case put the file on sdcard and not in a folder.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
  6. metiCkOne

    metiCkOne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portland, OR/Boston, MA <-- Born N' Raised
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh my god, that's fun.
     
  7. joemustang

    joemustang Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I just used Clockwork. Thank you, it worked.