Need Help Rooting on a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by BrandyLS, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. BrandyLS

    BrandyLS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok i have my droid stock as can be. But i am sad to hear that no one knows when we will get the 2.2 update and that we are on the end list as far the droid goes. So i want to root it finally. Now the only problem is i have a mac and no pc near by. I live in south texas lol. So no chance i'll be mailing my phone away. n e one know how to do it on a mac? dancedroid
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    do you happen to have a copy of windows xp service pack 2 or higher?
     
  3. BrandyLS

    BrandyLS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope just me and my mac :(
     
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    If you really want to do this, it can be done. I did it through my mac and it was a long process but it did work. I made this thread......http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/38671-flashing-sbf-mac.html

    Download VMware fusion trial and do the trial virtual machine with the trial windows. It will take a lot of time to download all the right files but when you do finish with that follow any of the rooting threads. This is a good write up here someone else made on the forum. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/39254-sbf-root-unroot.html

    If you decide to do this and have an issue feel free to shoot me a PM. Like I said this is the exact way I rooted my droid back in april.
     
  5. BrandyLS

    BrandyLS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok im gonna give it a shot. so if i run into anything i'll def hit you up :) thanx for takin the time.
     
  6. USCChem

    USCChem Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Mac as well (and I am a Mack, or at least my name is Mack), and it worked fine for me. It's actually very easily done on VMWare (well, it's no more complicated than simply doing it on a Windows machine, at least). It's just a matter of getting VMWare all set up (which is not too difficult).

    :)
     
Search tags for this page

rooting android devices in vmware on mac