Need help rooting my TB...!!!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by 305rev305, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. 305rev305
    Offline

    305rev305 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami,FL
    Hello all. I've had about three Android phones and the TB since day 1. Always been opposed to rooting but I finally want to take the plunge. Need help. Someone told me to get ROM Manager and just get Bamf or CM7 but do I have to root first or will this root my phone? Also, don't I need Titanium Backup to save my existing stuff on my phone?? What are the exact course of actions do I need to do? I would like a Rom that's working and not being tested out at the moment...I can always unroot and back to my original TB, right? Thanks all
  2. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    First you must root and unlock your bootloader. Go here.

    Once you're finished there, download ROM Manager from the market and use it to flash clockworkmod recovery.

    You can't use Titanium Backup until you have root privileges, and the rooting process will wipe all your data. I'm not sure about other methods of backing up apps and/or data...MyBackup Pro, perhaps? Not sure what needs root and what doesn't.

    I'm running BAMF 1.8.6 (Froyo with MR2 radio) and I find it to be super stable and functional.

    Good luck.
  3. polish23
    Offline

    polish23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could also AUTO ROOT... Makes everything unbelievably easy just follow all the instructions. Also, it depends on what version of Android you want to run, but I am currently running BAMF Sense 3.0 GB, with the MR 2.5 radio, and it is also very stable. Can't go wrong with BAMF!
  4. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Auto root takes the challenge out of rooting, and is definitely the way to go.

    Sent by my Bolt powered by Thunder
  5. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Cmon...adb ain't that hard... ;)

    Sent from my NookColor
  6. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    You know what this is what i needed to force me to root.

    I use to flash roms like a maniac on my D1 but the thunderbolt scares me because it is brickable.

    but screw it i'm sick of waiting for gb

    i'm rooting
  7. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    so once i root and back up the stock root I will need help flashing the updated radio
  8. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    The process is a bit more involved but once you get there and get clockwork installed you'll feel right at home. :)

    sent from my bolt
  9. Kboss375
    Offline

    Kboss375 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How is the camera on bamf, I hear some roms have Laggy cameras.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  10. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    No lag here, that might be an issue on some of the gingerbread builds. 1.8.6 is froyo

    sent from my bolt
  11. Kboss375
    Offline

    Kboss375 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A few weeks ago I had rooted with the auto root and everything seemed to be fine. I installed Rom manager and downloaded a Rom but it would never reboot and install like it would it would on my Droid 1. If i I manually went into the boot loader and installed the properly named zip file it would fail. Any one have an idea what went wrong. I would love to root again, but that is holding me back right now.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  12. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    This is holding me back from auto rooting

    anyone else have this issue?
  13. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    This process seems really simple why is everone making a big deal out of it?

    The only question I have is where do i put the downloaded files before i start the process?
  14. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    The downgrade and upgrade RUUs - wherever, they're eventually going to be put on the root of your sd card as PG05IMG.zip.

    The exploits files...I would make a folder called "exploits" or "tb_root" or whatever and unzip all the files into there. Then in your terminal just cd into that directory and follow the instructions.
  15. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    ok thanks.

    I'm going to try this tonight when I get out of work.

    Hopefully I won't mess things up too bad.

    I heard after I root I should flash the new radio before flashing a ROM or Kernal is that true?
  16. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Depends on what ROM - the newest BAMF Froyo ROM and pretty much all the GB ROMs work with either the MR2 or 2.5 radios. Earlier Froyo ROMs only work with MR1.

    But yes, flash the new radio and then flash the ROM of your choice.
  17. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    anyone have a link to an mr2 or mr2.5 radio?

    everyone i find is dead
  18. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I found one.

    Rooted. Flashed gb radio. Flashed gingervitus 1.5.

    So far so good.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  19. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    So rooting didn't fix my data problem. Still loosing data frequently.

    Sat far the battery life is not improved at all. I think its worse. Been unplugged for 1 hour and at 87%.

    Maybe I need a better radio.

    Any suggestions?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums