Need Help Please (Unrooting)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ModestMuse, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    I used DMUpdater to flash the 2.0.1 image. Everything seemed to work perfectly, except my home, search and camera buttons no longer function.

    While the home and search buttons not functioning is annoying, having the camera button not function prevents me from entering recovery mode to apply any updates. Also the camera app shuts down every time I try to run it...

    Any tips or ideas are appreciated!
  2. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    Do a full wipe/reset from the stock recovery.
  3. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    I thought that was what I did...

    How do I do what you are saying if I can't boot the phone into recovery mode?
  4. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    All you did was load the stock 2.01.

    Power off.
    Hold X while powering on until the triangle shows up.
    Hit volume up and camera buttons together.
    Choose the factory reset / wipe option.
  5. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    Unless I'm missing something. I don't see why you wouldn't be able to get into recovery.
  6. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    <p>
    </p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>

    My Camera button no longer functions. How do I go into recovery mode if I can't activate the Camera button???

    How do I restore function to the camera button??
  7. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    I assumed you meant the camera button did not work while booted into the phone. You have tried to get into recover and it doesn't work?

  8. titans
    Offline

    titans Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open up your keyboard and press enter. It will work just like the camera button should in the SPRecovery menu.
  9. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    <p>
    </p>
    <p>&nbsp;</p>

    The camera button does not work at all. I tried going into recover mode, but I can't get it off of the /!\ screen... I just have to hit the power button and reset... Holding volume up and camera does nothing, since the camera button doesn't function...
  10. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    I just tried this, but no luck...

    it still won't go past the /!\ screen...

    any other ideas??
  11. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    If anyone has any more ideas of what I should try, I'd love to hear them...

    Right now, there is no way for me to get past the /!\ screen, so I can't go back to rooted, and I can't figure out how to restore functionality to the home, search, or camera buttons...
  12. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    Try going to settings->privacy and do a factory data reset. Report back here with your results.
  13. ModestMuse
    Offline

    ModestMuse New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Naptown
    That worked great. Seems obvious now...

    Thank you very much for the advice.
  14. baniels
    Offline

    baniels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    52556
    glad to help. Not sure why I didn't think of that sooner.