need help picking a rom

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Big Ry, May 21, 2010.

  1. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm running UD10 now, which is very snappy and has cool features like 360 degree rotating screen, cube music app, etc. But its got some awful problems like the indicator light not working, home and launcher not rotating, live wallpapers freezing, plus many others.

    So I think I want to try bugless now. I just want a quick snappy OS. That's top priority for me. How do I go about switching? Do I need to unroot and go back to stock? Can I use Tom manager to do it all? Sorry for the noob questions.
     
  2. c0y0te

    c0y0te Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    BB is on RomManager (premium,) just make sure to wipe data/cache and format system, boot, data and cache a couple times each. It runs cooler that way and with less posibility of running into wierdness.

    ADB or Clockwork menu commands will both work. I like using Clockwork cuz I'm lazy and don't want to bother with ADB unless I have to.

    Unfortunately, there is no way to do that without booting into recovery and manualy installing from the .zip after the formats (that I know of.) So honestly, I would just dl from his original post just to have the .zips in an easily accessable spot on your SD card.

    I keep it all in a folder called Bugless_Beast with all the kernels and themes so I can check out which one I like the most. (1.0LV works best for me.)

    Or you could just find it all where Rom Manager puts it in Clockwork, but whatever thats a bunch of folders to search through and you can't get all the kernels and themes at the same time.

    So just dl to sd, reboot into Clockwork, wipe/format everthing, apply the BBv1 .zip, then theme and oc kernel of your choice and enjoy. No need to lose root or anything. Just make sure to make a backup before doing anything, obv.
     
  3. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Wait, what's the point of ROM manager if u gotta install the zip file like any other OS?

    Also, I don't know what clockwork is. I have sprecovery, is that the same thing?
     
  4. bhughesiii

    bhughesiii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clockwork is the recovery that comes with rom manager. When you download a rom it will auto install.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. dbz443

    dbz443 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your using rom manager there is no need to manually do anything in recovery. Pick the rom you want from the list and it will ask you weather or not u want to wipe or backup. Just put an X in the box and it will automaticaly boot into recovery and perform everything you asked it too.
     
  6. 7h3.4pp12en7ic3

    7h3.4pp12en7ic3 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, that option just wipes your data/cache partitions. What c0y0te was referencing is that if you also wipe system and boot, it tends to run cleaner. Also, doing it his way lets you wipe a couple times to be sure. CW only wipes once.
     
  7. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +10
    OK so I need to flash CW according to ROM manager. Can I just do it in ROM manager or so I need to remove sprecovery first?
     
  8. AmericanNomads

    AmericanNomads Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually curious of something. I have BBv1 but I got it from ROM Manager. I was thinking about switching to SPRecovery (mainly cus thats only way Ive ever manually installed a ROM) and installing BBv1 again but wiping 3x which leads me to my question, download the ROM from Pete's page but when I download the kernel where do I put that? Thats what Im alittle confused about, I dont know what file do I put the kernel or what to do to install it cus Id rather install it myself instead of using ROM Manager because I'd like to wipe 3x, thanks for any insight
     
  9. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try the ones from my sig... you wont regret
     
  10. gszeman

    gszeman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    1) I would keep Clockwork...just my opinion, but it works well for me.

    2) Just put the kernel on your sdcard (I use sdcard/ROMs, I have several kernels in there in case one of the faster kernels causes issues I can reboot into recovery and install a slower kernel that my phone likes better). Once you have the kernel on your sdcard reboot into recovery>>install .zip from sdcard>>choose .zip from sdcard>>navigate to the .zip and you are set...it will install the new kernel.

    And, you can still wipe 3x using ROM manager...just reboot into recovery and choose partition menu...then just choose format for each partition 3x.
     
  11. AmericanNomads

    AmericanNomads Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    But once I download the ROM it asks me to either wipe or back up. I click wipe and it does everything else from there I never seen an option to wipe a few times
     
  12. Big Ry

    Big Ry Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    Ratings:
    +10
    you can only wipe multiple times in recovery (sprecovery, clockwork, etc).

    UPDATE:
    i flashed clockwork, wiped data and cache, installed BBv1.0 + that other update thing listed in ROM manager. Everything seems to have went well. Its running smooth so far with no major issues...live wallpaper hasnt frozen yet either :icon_ banana:

    but I am having some issues...

    1) I still have no LED light...WTF is going on? Why can't I get this damn light back? I like live off that damn thing. I'm always checking my phone all paranoid because I don't know if I didnt hear a TXT or email that was important.

    2) Doesnt BBv1.0 have wifi tether? can someone please direct me to it, because I cannot find it.