Need help installing roms!

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by haxerpaylay, Jan 12, 2011.

1. haxerpaylay

haxerpaylay New Member

Yes I am a major noob.
    I have had success installing a new kernel, than I attemped to instal the newest simply stunning rom., via Rom manager, and I keep getting a boot loop with the simply stuning intro. Please help me find out what I'm doing wrong.

Sent from my Moto Droid.
  2. haxerpaylay

haxerpaylay New Member

Bump!

MOTO DROID
  3. CJM

CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

rom manager is known to have issues. I download all my rom's to my pc, then usb them to my sd. I flash them from there. Also, the devs give good instructions on the pc that you can't see in rom manager. But most rom's require a full wipe to install successfully. Hope this helps. Post again if you have problems with this.

Swyped from Droid Forums App
  4. haxerpaylay

haxerpaylay New Member

If I do a full wipe is it gonna erase my backups? If it doesn't work again and I have to restore using a backup is everything gonna be there like before I changed roms?

Sorry for the noob questions.

Sent from my Droid.
  5. CJM

Your nan backups will be there. I can flash umpteen roms, change settings in all of them. When I flash a backup, its like I never flashed a rom. I also use Titanium Backup. It saves the data from apps. Let me know how it goes.

Swyped from Droid Forums App
  6. BayouFlyFisher

BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

Your nandroid backups are on your SDcard and will not be wiped. Just so you know (assuming you are using Clockwork), they are in: sdcard/clockwork/backups.

Here's the directions for installing manually:

Installation Instructions [ClockWork]
    1) Download the ROM of your choice and place somewhere on your SD Card
    2) Reboot into ClockWork recovery

3) Scroll down and select “Nandroid
    4) Select “Backup
    5) After backup is complete
    6) Select “Wipe data”
    7) Select “Wipe Cache