Need help installing rom

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM D2' started by jmack98, Mar 8, 2011.

  1. jmack98

    jmack98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

    I have been trying to install Liberty rom on my rooted stock droid 2 . I have rooted with the one touch method. have installed rom manager and droid 2 bootstrapper I have downloaded the rom both to phone and to pc. I have downloaded from more than one mirror all from the OPs sources. every time I install the rom following these steps.
    1. boot to recovery with bootstrap
    2. back up then wipe
    3. verify mount of system
    4. disable verification
    5. choose zip from sd
    6. choose liberty file located on root of sd
    7. choose yes

    or

    1. run rom manager
    2. install from sd
    3.choose back up and wipe
    4. choose file from root of sd

    I get the following result

    clockworkMod Recovery v 2.5.0.8
    -- installing: SDCARD:Liberty2-1.5.zip
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    E:can't open /sdcard/Liberty2-1.5.zip
    (bad)
    Installation aborted.


    I have read tons. tried tons. got NOWHERE PLEASE HELP!!!

    Thank You All in Advance
    Jmack98


    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. Hobn

    Hobn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you on the latest OTA update?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. jmack98

    jmack98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My system info is

    System: 2.3.20.A955.Verizon.en.us
    Version 2.2
    Baseband: Bo_c_01.09.07p
    Kernel: 2.6.32.9-g462500f dbretzml@il93lnxdroidz2#1

    I don't know if that's the latest or not

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. Hobn

    Hobn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    try to ota update, and do so if need be

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. jmack98

    jmack98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to do the OTA and is said that I have the current version no update is available. (or something like that)
     
  6. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you unzipping the rom folder? Are you on a mac? Its gonna take a while but You should try to download it from your phone again, then move it to the root of your sd scard. How exactly did you root? Did you ota update after you rooted? You said 1 touch but was it z4? You shouldn't use rom manager or disable verification.
    Your on the latest update btw.
    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. jmack98

    jmack98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I am not unzipping the rom. I am on a PC. I have tried both downloading with the pc and then transferring it to the root of my sd card and also downloading directly to the phone and transferring it to the root of my sd card. Nothing seems to be getting me past the error.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try not turning off signature verification?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. jmack98

    jmack98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you pressing bootstrap recovery before you hit reboot recovery?
    Sorry for the lame questions but its gonna be something dumb.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. jmack98

    jmack98 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not doing that every time but I did install bootstrap recovery the first time. Do I need to do that everytime I try??

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  12. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya it wouldn't hurt to bootstrap every time, I do but it might just be my ocd.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App