Need Help Installing DroidMod

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Jokool_7777, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im on 2.0.1 and rooted. Unable to install Droidmod 1.1. I keep getting Nandroid exited with status 154. I thought it was because I did something earlier so I did a factory reset and then tried to install it. Same error. I KNOW this is somewhere on the forum but I cant find it.
     
  2. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0

    Once you factory restored, did you root again prior to attempting?

    From what I can gather, status 154 applies to an outdated recovery.
     
  3. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I still have the ninja icon indicating superuser permissions so I assumed I was still rooted. I read that about the outdated recovery but didnt understand what that meant. Can you clearify. Thats probably the answer Im looking for right there.
     
  4. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    You do still have root, you are correct.

    The recovery image is what allows us to override the default recovery system and save back-ups, etc, etc.

    We are currently running on version 0.99.3.img and I'm assuming that Droidmod wants that version. We have moved through several versions of that recovery file to date and there might be some mix up with a file you used pointing to the incorrect version of the file.

    I would high suggest going back to stock, then using Droidmod. It will root for you. That way you don't have to play around with all those files.

    Unroot & Back To Stock | Root Your Droid

    That is the best 'back to stock' tutorial and files I've found. Give that a shot, then attempt using Droidmod again and see what happens.


    EDIT; clarification
     
  5. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks...at somepoint I say version 99.1 so thats probably it. Im going to take your advice and try it again....I'll let you know in a few if I'm good to go. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
     
  6. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not a problem. For sure let us know if you got it figured out and if you dont... well let us know that too! lol

    I would suggest posting in this thread, so we don't get additional unnecessary threads :)

    And well, because I'm lazy and I am subscribed, lol.
     
  7. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found a snag already...I dont see the option for Allow update.zip installation.....I only see Install /sdcard/update.tar as rom
    Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated) and
    Choose ROM from SD Card
     
  8. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to do the Install /sdcard/update.zip(deprecated) before it will allow you to install anything. Basically that's saying you take responsibility for installing stuff.
     
  9. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    One minute....I might need to boot into the stock recovery..i was booting into something else. I wasnt pressing the camera button and the volume button.
     
  10. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks...Im back to stock. Now on to the DroidMod installatiion
     
  11. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0

    Let's hope it works correctly this time!
     
  12. Jokool_7777

    Jokool_7777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0

     
    #12 Jokool_7777, Feb 24, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010