Need Help!! Droid Razr Maxx HD will not reboot

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by 19Jenny69, Sep 2, 2013.

  1. 19Jenny69
    Offline

    19Jenny69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Walhalla, SC
    Hello,

    I have a Droid Razr Maxx HD, last night I was watching HBOGO on it and it just shut off. When I tried to turn it on I got nothing. I tried unplugging the charger and plugging it back it, it won't charge or it is just not showing that it is charging. I searched and found that others had this issue, I did everything I could find to fix this including, rebooting, clearing the cache, and even (oh! I dreaded doing this) factory reset. I can get into the phone to the reboot menu, but when I factory reset it, when it is done I hit reboot now and it just shut off. It still will not turn on. I use the power and volume down button and can get it to the M logo screen, but that is all it does. It will not go past the M logo screen. I am at a loss, and lost without my phone. Please help me, I can't understand what the problem is and I want to learn from this. I have only had the phone for a month and have not even used a quarter of the memory. I want to say in advance, THANK YOU to anyone who can help me fix this issue.

    Thanks,

    Jenny dancedroid
  2. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    How far down did you let the battery drain before trying to recharge? Can you get a battery reading now and if so what does it say the charged level is?
  3. 19Jenny69
    Offline

    19Jenny69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Walhalla, SC
    It was around 80% when I started watching my show and I had it plugged into the charger so I don't think it was the battery. I can't get a battery reading as I can't even get into the phone. The only thing I can do is go to the reboot menu in the system and when I reboot it just goes to the M logo and freezes. If I do a factory reset it goes the the reboot now and I select it and it turns off and won't turn back on.

    Thank you for responding.

    Jenny
  4. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    I'm not sure what you're telling me. How do you get the option to do a factory reset if you can't get the phone past the "M" logo? How are you getting to what you call "menu in the system"? I'm not being critical, just trying to understand what you are doing and how the phone reacts.
  5. 19Jenny69
    Offline

    19Jenny69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Walhalla, SC
    When you hold the volume up, volume down, and power button for a few seconds it takes you to the system menu in the phone, where you can reboot, clear cache, factory reset, and it also gives you options for updates.

    Anyway I took it to Verizon yesterday and they told me the start-up file was corrupted and they are sending me a new phone. The man told me that I probably had an automatic update that I didn't know about and hit the wrong button or turned of my phone in the middle of it and corrupted the update. He told me when I get the new one to set my updates to manual so I will have control of when it updates. Just glad that I pay that $6.99 a month for the insurance or I would have been out an awesome phone.

    Thank you for trying to help me, I really do appreciate it.
    1 person likes this.
  6. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Ok, I understand now. Anyway, glad Verizon is taking care of you.
    1 person likes this.
  7. JOEOLIVER
    Offline

    JOEOLIVER New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid Razr Maxx Does not boot beyond Motorloa Logo

    @JPCalhoun...My Motorla Razr Maxx is eperiencing the same problem Jenny above described. My device will only boot to the black screen with the red Motorola Logo and appears to continously cycle in the screen and never moves past this point until the battery finally dies. I have tried to do the soft and hard resets as well as clearing the cache, etc but no luck in the past. I don't have the privledge to get a replacement so I hope that you can help me rectify this situtation...Thank you in advance!!!



    JOE O. :mad:
  8. chicadelfuego
    Offline

    chicadelfuego New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue. Went to the store I got it from and was told to go home and reload the software. They were of no help!
  9. w3man
    Offline

    w3man New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you do the software update from Verizon? That killed my HD Maxx.
  10. chicadelfuego
    Offline

    chicadelfuego New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did. My phone rebooted during the software causing it to lose all os software. Even tech support was unable to help. Verizon played back and forth about it and basically told me it was my problem. Since I'm in Florida I normally wouldn't qualify for extended warranty due to legalities. However, I had my print out of my conversation with the tech support person that said I would be covered for free so they had to honor it.
    1 person likes this.
  11. mboswell
    Offline

    mboswell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    KitKat has just been loads of fun...! +Sarcasm) Sorry to the OP that you're going through this

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD using Droid Forums
  12. DaveBerkebile
    Offline

    DaveBerkebile New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have this exact same problem. There is data on that phone that I CANNOT lose. Anyone know of a ROM online that might fix it? I can get to the triage screen and have the option to install from an SD card, but I need the file to do that.

    Thanks Verizon for soft bricking my phone!
  13. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    use this script to reflash your phone from fastboot. use the "keep data" file inside
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2474393
  14. DaveBerkebile
    Offline

    DaveBerkebile New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the advice but the phone is still being stubborn. In AP Fastboot, the Windows Utility says it is writing the update but when I reboot the phone, the problem remains. It says it is applying the update but then it goes back to the showing all the services that are failing.
  15. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    sorry to hear that.
    your phones software is verified good now by flashing (i was really hoping that was the issue). the only other option is a factory reset and loss of data :(
  16. deminimis
    Offline

    deminimis New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    While driving home yesterday, Razr Maxx HD was plugged in and the phone shut down. Last thing on the screen was the Duo Core processor image (or whatever it is). Won't turn on, no soft reboot, no charging indication. Nada. Absolutely black screen. When I plug it into my laptop,the laptop doesn't even know I plugged it in. Expensive paperweight or??? Thanks for any input. It was a great phone until the recent update (lot's of stupid little issues after the update, and, it seems, one giant issue).
  17. bweN diorD
    Offline

    bweN diorD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48

    hold the power button and both vol buttons for a bit and see if it will turn on to the bootloader menu. if it does, there may be hope to save it.
  18. deminimis
    Offline

    deminimis New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks. I tired that with no luck. Warranty period has passed, so in a last ditch effort I cracked it open, disconnected the batt for a few minutes, plugged it back in, buttoned it up and still nothing. It's a paperweight. All hope is lost. Now trying to decide if I should use this as an opportunity to cast off the Verizon shackles. I've been clinging to my old unlimited data plan for years now, but starting to think it isn't worth it. However, due to the the Kit Kat nonsense, I know a new Moto is not in my future. Thanks again.
  19. turbodave
    Offline

    turbodave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    IMHO you should stick with VZ! I was a cell phone repair tech for almost as many years as there have been cell phones. Over the years I've learned who the best carrier is (customer service not withstanding), and more so, what phones are best. Moto ranks right near the top in most categories, but my favorite has always been LG for best radio performance and near top video performance. As for THE best ever displays Samsung can't be beat, (not only on phones but other displays like TV's, eyc.) but... Their radio performance has always been sub par.
    I like my moto RAZR max HD(Christmas present) but my next one will be LG.

    Sent from my QMV7A tablet via Tapatalk.
Search tags for this page

can i do a hard reset on my droid razr if it won't turn on

,
droid maxx wont turn on
,
droid razr hd wont reboot
,

droid razr maxx hd frozen

,
droid razr maxx hd spins after reboot and won't turn on
,
droid razr maxx hd won't boot
,

droid razr maxx will not boot up

,
droid razr maxx wont master reset
,

droid razr wont turn on after clear chea

,
how do you reboot an android phone
,
how do you restore droid razr hd from fast boot menu
,
motorola razr hd won't boot past the m
,
my phone not turning on menu reboot factory reset
,

my razr maxx is frozen on restart

,

what does it mean when your droid razor has the red motorola