Need help ASAP Please!!!

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by btf_firefighter, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. btf_firefighter

    btf_firefighter Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Allenton, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I rooted my phone over the weekened. Well today when I got to work my phone did the software update and I didnt know about it. Now my phone shuts off every couple minutes and when it turns back on it shows a picture of a box and the android dude next to it. It also has a progress meter and it gets to about 10 percent and then a new screen comes up and its an exclamation point in a triangle with the droid dude next to it. What is going on with my phone now? Is it shot? I hope not I have not even had it a month yet. Need Help ASAP Please Thanks guys
     
  2. thelopenator

    thelopenator Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay what happened was you rooted and you did a verizon OTA right? Well if thats the case you were not suppose to ever do that once you root. I hope you have a backup of BEFORE you did the OTA so you can run the phone in recovery mode and restore it. If you don't I'm not sure I dont have too many ideas right now as it's 2:30 AM haha. Uhm also you might be able to do a Factory restore right when the phone turns on. if it keeps updating you try throwing the phone in airplane mode and maybe it wont update?
     
  3. mj23

    mj23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i totally almost updated last night but saw this post. thankfully.

    i rooted just for the programs that req root access not for roms and i thought i was ok.

    not ok.
     
  4. thelopenator

    thelopenator Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well now that your rooted you can install roms if you ever get bored
     
  5. comk4ver

    comk4ver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    What phone are you on? I'm sure you must have made a backup!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  6. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well, he posted in the Thunderbolt section... :/

    sent from my bolt
     
  7. turdbogls

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    i saw someone say if you format the SD card you will be good. i believe the OTA gets downloaded to the SD, and the phone tries to apply the update but Root wont let it.
    plug the SD into a computer, delete any files on the root of the SD card and put it back in. it may fix it for you.
     
  8. DrewB

    DrewB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if he took out them memory card and put it in a SD card reader and dl a Rom place it on the root of the SD card flash into recovery and flash the Rom. He could simply flash a debloated Rom if he wants the stock Rom. All of this of course he didn't create a back up.

    sent from bamfed out bolt
     
  9. AntiNorm

    AntiNorm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Power off the phone, remove the microSD card, put it in a card reader, hook it up to your PC. In the root directory of the card, there should be a file called pg05img.zip. Delete that file, then put the microSD card back into your phone and power it up.

    pg05img.zip is the OTA update. It's failing, since you have root. The file is still there, though, which is why your phone keeps trying to apply it.
     
  10. btf_firefighter

    btf_firefighter Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Allenton, Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry it took so long to get back on this. I was cancelling.all the updates but one got by me when I was in the 4g area and download it before I seen it. Is there a way to disable them? The phone kept shutting off then freezing so I pulled the battery and hurried up and did a factory reset. It fixed it for now knock on wood. I still need to install a rom yet though.
     
  11. mj23

    mj23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just ended up installing a new ROM. Worked great

    Sent from my Thunderbolt using Tapatalk