1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[Need Help] Apex to Liberty to Apex, grrr

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by snstr1, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. snstr1
    Offline

    snstr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I will try to simplify and shorten as much as possible.

    I ROM'd to Apex and loved the rom. After running it for a couple weeks I noticed that when I tried to add a contact it said " cannot add contact without valid account", this was an issue for me after not finding a fix for this, so I decided I would try Liberty MOD. Nandroid back up, cleared data/factory restore, booted to new rom, installed and wam bam new mod.

    Was not a big fan of it right away, I liked the Apex transitions and general feel. So I restore from ROMmanager to my backup. Low an behold it all looks good except now I have the Liberty boot screen, and I still have the "cannot add contact without valid account" issue.

    Any help on fixing either issue would be great.

    Thanks
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  2. miketoasty
    Offline

    miketoasty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    First off don't use ROM manager it does not work as it should with our type of recovery.

    Second the Liberty bootscreen will stay until 1. An SBF or 2. You download the liberty app (Can be done in any ROM) and change the boot animation back to stock. For some reason the boot animation is stored somewhere outside of where the Backup is created, therefor it persists until it is changed or a full system restore takes place.
  3. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    ROM Manager can be used for making back ups and restoring them. As the poster above me said, your only options are to SBF or go about changing the boot animation yourself.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  4. snstr1
    Offline

    snstr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use ROMmanager for backups without issue, and CWrecovery installed for installing new ROM's.

    Ya I kinda figured that I would have to manually modify the Boot Screen. Any instructions on doing this?

    Also as to the "cannot add contact without valid account" I was able to do a CWrecovery factory restore go through the account sign up again for google then use titanium backup and just instal missing apps without installing system data and fixed the issue. Obviously I have to reset up my phone the way I want it.
  5. want a droid
    Offline

    want a droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    For the boot animation:

    -Find the boot animation zip you want to use
    -Put the zip in either data/local or system/media (wherever the current zip is in)
    -Reboot phone

    Or you can get the Liberty toolbox app and try doing it from there. I always like doing things myself though, I try to avoid apps for things like that.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  6. snstr1
    Offline

    snstr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I couldnt find any bootanimation.zip in either of those dir. even tried just searching in root manager for *.zip files and couldnt find one.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  7. louy99
    Offline

    louy99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a boot logo changer app in the market. I use it and it works great.

    Droid2 Fisson 2.5.7
  8. mingaldrichgan
    Offline

    mingaldrichgan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This app only changes the boot logo, not the boot animation.
  9. droidzforlife
    Offline

    droidzforlife Beta Alpha Delta Omega 3! Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah

    If I remember correctly when I was using ApeX I couldn't find the bootanimation.zip either so I just found one I liked and placed it in the system/local dir and rebooted. This worked great for me. I think that ApeX doesnt include a bootanimation so what ever you had before will remain the same unless you wipe the /system(which I dont recommend) before you install a new rom.
  10. snstr1
    Offline

    snstr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info I will try this today...