Need help...again....

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by sunshine81039, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    You have a lot of "stuff" running. I guess the question is "do you really use/need" all of them. I understand now why media is such large consumer of your battery. If you have Facebook, You Tube, and all those other widgets running your going to have less than average battery life. Many off the pre-installed apps can be disabled by un installing their updates and then selecting disable. Some can be un installed. You need to figure out what you want... everything running and syncing or better battery life. It's this simple... The more you have running, downloading and syncing the shorter your battery will last. Also check the settings of what you do have running. The more often it syncs the shorter your battery will last.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,808
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,287
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    There is a known problem with "Media" where it goes rogue and sucks down an inordinate amount of power, draining batteries in a matter of hours as the OP has described. Some (like me), are able to get it back under control by stopping the Media service in Apps Manage, and then clearing the Cache/Data for the app, and finally then rebooting.

    Others have had the app/service continue for a couple days, and then suddenly start acting normally again. As of yet, nobody that I know of has been able to identify what is causing it or what works every time to fix it.

    This may happen once in a great while, or never depending on who you talk to. I've had it hit my phone twice since I've originally activated it over a year ago. In both situations, the steps mentioned above eventually worked, but in one of the two times it took several repeats of clearing the cache and stopping the service before it worked.

    Sent from my A210 using Tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. sunshine81039

    sunshine81039 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok so i did an fdr and still media is running here is a screen shot of the media it says is running
     

    Attached Files:

  4. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    I have the same problem, but it's with the kernel. It's been running a lot lately. Ever since the Jelly Bean was let out, it's been running more than it ever has. I'm not sure if that is a reason for it running or not. It's just odd.

    Screenshot_2013-01-23-08-46-22.png
     
  5. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Have you tried stopping manually and clearing cache as stated by Foxkat? Also what widget do you have on your screens? If you stop it, clear cache, and check your screens, you may find one of them (or more) is the cause of the media issue. If so, you may want to lower the sync setting for the app.
     
  6. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    You're having battery issues? My kernel is right up there as well but battery has been lasting over 30+ hours...big drainer is Facebook which you have as number 2..even though it says 2%.. I wouldn't worry so much about the kernel..its those apps that you sync and how often you sync/update them. I occasionally use Facebook on my phone and when I do.. I log out completely and then log in when I need to.
     
  7. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yeah, it seems to draining faster. I can get almost 48hrs, but recently has not been getting that high. I may try what you suggested. Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
     
  8. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    I just saw media share settings..hit menu button..system settings.. under data..you will see "more"..hit more. You'll see media share settings. See if any settings are on.
     
  9. cybertj.2000

    cybertj.2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camby, IN
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm confused about where this is...
     
  10. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    From the homescreen, press menu key, system settings, data, more...

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. cybertj.2000

    cybertj.2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camby, IN
    Ratings:
    +12
    I go to system settings, it says data usage, but nothing says only data, and under data usage doesn't say more that I see

    I'm on ICS if that matters
     
  12. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Sorry under data usage is "more"..correct? I cant remember if this is ICS..This is where you can switch mobile network.
     
Search tags for this page

what causes android media to be such a large battery drainer