Need help...again....

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by sunshine81039, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. aarong03

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have the same problem, but it's with the kernel. It's been running a lot lately. Ever since the Jelly Bean was let out, it's been running more than it ever has. I'm not sure if that is a reason for it running or not. It's just odd.

    Screenshot_2013-01-23-08-46-22.png
     
  2. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Have you tried stopping manually and clearing cache as stated by Foxkat? Also what widget do you have on your screens? If you stop it, clear cache, and check your screens, you may find one of them (or more) is the cause of the media issue. If so, you may want to lower the sync setting for the app.
     
  3. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    You're having battery issues? My kernel is right up there as well but battery has been lasting over 30+ hours...big drainer is Facebook which you have as number 2..even though it says 2%.. I wouldn't worry so much about the kernel..its those apps that you sync and how often you sync/update them. I occasionally use Facebook on my phone and when I do.. I log out completely and then log in when I need to.
     
  4. aarong03

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah, it seems to draining faster. I can get almost 48hrs, but recently has not been getting that high. I may try what you suggested. Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
     
  5. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    I just saw media share settings..hit menu button..system settings.. under data..you will see "more"..hit more. You'll see media share settings. See if any settings are on.
     
  6. cybertj.2000

    cybertj.2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camby, IN
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm confused about where this is...
     
  7. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    From the homescreen, press menu key, system settings, data, more...

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. cybertj.2000

    cybertj.2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camby, IN
    Ratings:
    +12
    I go to system settings, it says data usage, but nothing says only data, and under data usage doesn't say more that I see

    I'm on ICS if that matters
     
  9. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Sorry under data usage is "more"..correct? I cant remember if this is ICS..This is where you can switch mobile network.
     
  10. GotnFX

    GotnFX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    Or maybe instead of saying system settings data usage..it should be system settings..More.
     
  11. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +46
    He meant Menu>system settings>
    Then right below the words "Data usage" it says "more..."
    Click on the "more..."
     
  12. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +41
    Lol its there on ICS I remember

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     

    Attached Files:

  13. sunshine81039

    sunshine81039 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry guys I had a long day at work and just got home from the gym. I dont have any icons on my screen other than the gsam and droid forums. I havent relogged into anything else I.E. facebbook etc. I have done the manual closing of apps and clearing the cache as well. I am going to do another FDR and try a new gmail account. I will try the more button as well and see what is running. As for tonight I am going to unplug it and see if it will make it through the night without dying. Thanks for all of the help I will let you know what happens tomorrow!
     
  14. sunshine81039

    sunshine81039 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok so reset done cache cleared battery did not last 8 hours. Doing a fdr and do new gmail let you know tomorrow
     
  15. The Stig 04

    The Stig 04 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +41
    Can you post a picture of your battery stats? Under settings/battery. Does it just show media running at a high percentage?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

what causes android media to be such a large battery drainer