Need Halps. Stuck in a bootloop.

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by ScottKnightx, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. ScottKnightx

    ScottKnightx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so here goes. I've been searching for roughly 3 hours, through the entire interwebs, as well as other droid forums, and I haven't come across a straight answer to my problem. So I figured if anyone could help me, it's you guys.

    I had a non-rooted Droid X. I decided to be daring and download the unofficial Gingerbread update. I cleared cache, temp files, etc. then ran the gingerbread update (method of holding power and home). Since then, my droid X is stuck on a red motorola logo. Now I've rooted/unrooted phones many times. This is a new droid x (gave old rooted droid x to my girlfriend.)

    So now I am stuck in a bootloop, and nothing will change it. I decided I'd use RSD lite v4.9 and load an old SBF for Froyo. I did the method of holding the down volume, camera, and power. It loaded the SBF but then the phone automatically rebooted and went directly to the red motorola logo. If I disconnect the battery, and plug it back in, that logo comes right back up.

    Holding power, and home, loads the red motorola logo again.

    Not sure exactly what happened here. But I hope I can get a clear, to the point answer from you guys as to what I can do. I know if anyone can help me, it's you. Thanks!
     
  2. ScottKnightx

    ScottKnightx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, turns out when it's plugged in to the wall, I can hit the power button and it goes away and gives me the battery logo. (Which is full) But then when holding down power and home, it goes right back to the red motorola logo.
     
  3. ScottKnightx

    ScottKnightx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hell, the battery doesn't even need to be attached to the phone, it just has to be plugged in to the wall, and I get the red motorola logo.
     
  4. Getsome122

    Getsome122 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, just to be clear you tried to install the GB update and then got stuck in bootloop.

    And since then you have tried to sbf with RSD with what you called an old SBF. Was the SBF you used for .340?

    was the phone on .340 before you started this whole process?

    Just trying to see where you are really at here before suggesting anything.
     
  5. ScottKnightx

    ScottKnightx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was on .340 before, and an using the SBF for .340
     
  6. Getsome122

    Getsome122 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It doesnt sound like the sbf took since its still showing a red moto logo which is part of GB. Maybe you missed a step.

    I would say try again to SBF with RSD or if you want to try what would be an easier method you can try this(though downloading it will take a few minutes).. Linux solution to your Windows/RSD lite problems
     
  7. Getsome122

    Getsome122 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you havent tried to sbf again yet try this. Hold down power and home buttons and see if it puts you into bootloader. then hit the search hard key and it should take you into stock recovery. If that works wipe data and cache and reboot.
     
  8. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hold both volume keys to get stock recovery on gingerbread and factory reset. Press search at triangle screen.
     
  9. ScottKnightx

    ScottKnightx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay guys. I figured it out. @GetSome, you were correct. The SBF wasn't working. I downloaded a new one, and it took. So then I had my phone working correctly on .340, and reinstalled the GB update, and everything took and is working correctly and I am now on GB.

    I'm glad it didn't do any permanent damage, as that would have been upsetting. But thank you all for your help, and prompt responses. And being there while I was freaking out. Hahah.
     
  10. Getsome122

    Getsome122 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reminder on the volume buttons in gb. I keep forgetting that. Old habits... haha.

    Glad you got it working again

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App