1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Need Google Voice Advice Please

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Jages16, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. Jages16
    Offline

    Jages16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I was lucky enough to secure an invite today. Just made my profile on Facebook asking for one and a friend came through. My question is, which do I choose. I only have a cell phone and that's it, so probably leaning toward that option (ie, not getting a new GV number) but does this option have less abilities than if I were to go the route of getting a GV number? If I go the route of getting the GV number, does that mean I have to alert all my contacts to start using that new number? Any help is greatly appreciated!!!!!
  2. gocflamedragon
    Offline

    gocflamedragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    KY, Usa
    No, just get a google voice number trust me on this. All your calls and such will not have to be made on this new number evreything will still work on your old number. You CAN setup the gv for your voicemail provider if you wish but basicly really their isnt a whole lot thats gona change.
  3. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    If you get a new number, you have it forward to your current number--your contacts will get through whichever number they use. One cool thing about getting a GV number is that you can get a number that spells something :)
  4. Jages16
    Offline

    Jages16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. Definitely glad that I asked. DO you know if I add a new number later (maybe a home phone or new office line) can that be added to GV? So basically you're saying is that I don't need to give anyone the new number and that my old cell phone will work with GV? Sorry to be redundant, just don't want to screw this up!
  5. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    Your old number(s) will always work. GV is just a forwarding service. You can add multiple lines to GV and have it ring one of them, all of them, or (I think) ring them in series if you don't pick them up when your GV number is dialed :) It's pretty cool.

    I have my regular cell number set to use GV voicemail. I like it because 1) it transcribes it well enough for me to get the gist by looking at the text 2) I can check it through GV on the phone similar to the way you can use visual vm from Verizon (which costs $) and 3) I can check/manage my voicemails from my computer, as well as recording new messages, etc.
  6. Jages16
    Offline

    Jages16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, one last question (I promise :) Is there a benefit to using a GMail account over Yahoo when I officially sign up? I only got the gmail account to use with the Droid and exclusively use Yahoo. Does this matter at all?
  7. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    I have no idea. It's been years since I messed with yahoo mail and I hated it at the time. I used to run my own mail server but once I got gmail years ago I started using it exclusively and I love it.
  8. Jages16
    Offline

    Jages16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Opal. Anyone esles out there know the answer to my Yahoo vs. GMail question for Google Voice? By the way, Opal, I am from the burbs of Boston originally :)
  9. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    Yeah? What's there to do around here? I just moved to Massachusetts in August. :)
  10. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. It basically boils down to this:

    If you don't get the GV number you only really get GV voicemail.

    If you get the GV number you get the whole package. Whether you decide to use only GV voicemail or more is up to you. Whether or not you actually use your GV number at all is up to you. Note that the other features only work with calls to your GV number (calls to your VZW number can only use GV voicemail).

    Personally, I find almost all the features very useful. IMO it was worth switching completely over to using only my GV number. No one even has my VZW number. Of course, YMMV, depending on whether or not the features seem useful to you.

    I don't think it matters since GV will be a part of your Google account anyway. Why not sign up with the gmail address?
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  11. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Now I only have a cell phone (no home phone or landline). I only need the voicemail so why get the GV number? and if I did doesn't it add to the confusion? How would it work? What do I have the GV # be inactive? And how does it work if I did use the GV number only? What do I have Verizon switch numbers or something (which I can't b/c my cell phone is a work phone). It just seems to me that I should opt to not get the GV #.
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  12. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    You don't change anything about Verizon. Your Google Voice number is a TOTALLY SEPARATE number that FORWARDS to any number(s) you tell it to. One example of a way to use it is so that you can have a local number in another area from where you live. For me, for example, I got this number when I lived in Atlanta. I've since lived in Cleveland and now Boston, but kept the same Atlanta number. That means local people here calling me have to dial a long distance number. So I got a (508) Google Voice number so that I can give local folks here a local number. However it would also work in reverse. Say I had friends/family in California... I could get a GV number that is a local number to their area, and have it forward to my cell and they don't have to pay long distance (believe it or not, some people still have to pay for long distance!) It's also a way to get a number that may be easier to remember, or that spells a word, or if you want a number you can give people without giving out your real number. For me, I put my GV number on my business website, so that my real number is still private.
  13. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    So let's say I still dont want to use the GV # but get the option anyway. What do I do? And would I be able to activate it at a later date? Oh and btw, I am STILL waiting for a GV invite :-(

    thank you for your help!
  14. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    You don't have to use the GV number if you get it, but I don't know if you can go back and get one later, which is why I'd say just get it and just leave it alone for now if you don't want to use it. It's not like you lose features by choosing that option.

    I don't have any invites, or I'd send you one.
  15. ctn830
    Offline

    ctn830 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Hey thanks for the help. Hopefully someone else reads this and can send an invite. So if I ever get an invite I'll get the number but just won't use it. I'm sure I'll have more questions,lol
  16. Jages16
    Offline

    Jages16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your help Takeshi. I did indeed have to sign up using my gmail account. Now I just need someone to call and leave a vm for me to test it :)

    Another random quesiton....with a Google number, is there a way to make free calls using GV?