NEED DROID 3 HELP!! i NEED DROID 3 GURU MASTER

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by lemmony, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    :mad: my droid 3 by some miracle still works but I have completely f-ed up the operating system with some un-solicited help.:mad: This is a rooted droid 3 by the way.

    I want to restore my factory o.s. so that I can then go threw and delete things that are safe to delete while still leaving phone able to make/receive updates, and stop the stupid force close crap.:icon_ devil:

    I have downloaded to my computer the: Motorola rsd lite 5.5 , the updated Motorola software for 64/32 bit computers, and the VZW spf file for the factory os.

    1st Following the directions I found on line I plugged in my phone to the computer, turned it off and on then set it to "charge mode only"

    2nd I clicked the rsd lite on my computer, when the rsd lite window opened I clicked the ..... found the vzw.spf file clicked it

    3rd clicked start and it said "placing fone in flash mode at which point phone went into flash mode, then did that for awhile and said flashing then said "failed to flash" I also tried to use the same method to do the steel os in the forum just to see if I had a bad spf file but same result... after unplugging my phone from computer and re-starting it it still starts anyway and makes calls.:blink:

    WHAT ON EARTH AM I DOING WRONG?? fortunately after all efforts so far phone still functions and is not bricked.i went to market from external google source and downloaded the "go os/go launcher/go dialer/and go contacts, which has my phone at least working but obviously not desired result.
    :hail:IS ANYONE A GENIUS/Droid3 Guru AND CAN HELP ME??:hail:
     
  2. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    When I soft bricked my D3, RSD gave me an error every time. Eventually, I found Psouza's script using fastboot and was able to flash my phone to factory just fine.

    Here is the link to it RootzWiki is down for maintenance right now, but it should be up any moment.
     
  3. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    ?

    :hail: Can you please walk me threw any special steps you needed to use to accomplish the feat?:D I am still waiting for them to come back online so I can attempt your suggestion, but as a layman it would also help me alot if you could maybe walk down the method or steps you used.. :icon_ lala:Thankyou very much.. You rock!!:icon_ lala:
     
  4. xaelith

    xaelith Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just my two cents...as far as I understood, when flashing an sbf to the phone, I thought the phone was supposed to be in "PC mode" (or whatever mode it is that allows one to move files to the phone), is it not? Also, when I rooted and rommed my D1, it was advised to turn on USB debugging as well.

    If I'm wrong, pardon my ignorance. However, even just looking at the USB modes logically, "charge only" sounds like it should be just that - nothing more than a juice line to the phone to top off the battery.
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,821
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    To flash a sbf you have to be in the bootloader. On the D3 you use a fastboot file. The D3 is alot different than the D1.

    Sent from my HP Touchpad using Tapatalk
     
  6. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    Usb debugging

    I TRIED WITH THE USB DEBUGGING AND ALLOW NON MARKET AND WITH IN PC MOE AND I TRIED WITH IN MASS MEDIA MODE AS WELL. KEEP GETTING SAME RESULT.:sad-b::sad-b::sad-b::sad-b:
     
  7. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK PLEASE HELP ME OUT as i am a complete noob to this wat is a boot loader and fast boot file? I just followed the instructions i was told Verizon uses and didn't do nothing for me. it takes me into the boot menu and thats as far as it goes before i get the failed to flash message. Please use clear and simple instructions ;)
     
  8. anthrpicdecadnce

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    turn off phone. Hold volume down, turn on phone
     
  9. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    i hold down on the volume and hit power and it takes me to the same fast boot flash mode screen as i was getting doing the former method, but still the end result is flash failure..

    I am really confused.. Any other suggestions?
     
  10. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
  11. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any more ideas? My phone works as it is other then a few little glitches but I need to get it back to the factory O.S. and I am having absolutely no luck what so ever. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HELP:hail::hail::hail:
     
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Have you tried the fastboot method?
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 master operation failed
,
guru masters.tk
,
how to change my droid 3 from charge mode only
,
master clear error, operation failed motorola
,

psouza'4 890 update script