Need Droid 2 Boot Logo (M)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by Dark Lazer, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Dark Lazer
    Offline

    Dark Lazer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've been using a custom boot image for a few weeks now, but I need to send in my D2 for a replacement. I figured a format would make it go back to stock, but my boot image is still there. I've unrooted and everything, and this is the last thing I need to change back.

    Does anyone have the image? I need it soon!
  2. Suicidetuna
    Offline

    Suicidetuna New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Over in the droid x forum there's a thread called boot logos I'll create. I think there the original in there. If not request it and the guy will hook you up.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  3. Dark Lazer
    Offline

    Dark Lazer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Cool thanks. I didnt find it in that thread, but someone posted a link to a different thread which had it in there. I'll post it here for convenience.
  4. iwearhats
    Offline

    iwearhats New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    I know that it will change automatically when you SBF.
  5. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Have you done it?
  6. iwearhats
    Offline

    iwearhats New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    How else would I know? ;) Yeah, I made up a custom one for myself and I have to replace it every time I SBF.
  7. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I changed mine by accident. Can anyone walk me through putting it back (in simple terms as im 15)
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    First youre going to place the zip on the root of your sd card, meaning not in any folders. You can do this with your file manager. Then You're going to boot in to cm recovery using the bootstrapper app.

    Once inside you wil go to mounts aand storage and choose to mount system (it will say "unmount system" when its mounted) then use the power button to back out to the main menu and go to install zip from sd card. Then go to choose zip from sd card and scroll down the list to find the appropriate zip and select it. Then choose yes to install and it will pop up a progress bar that wont take to much time and then you'll go back to the main menu and choose reboot now.

    tappin and a talkin
  9. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    is the app by ClockworkMod? Called Droid 2 Recovery Bootstrap?
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Yes sir. When using the app you will first choose bootstrap recovery and then reboot recovery, you'll understand that once you get in to the app. Reboot recovery will bring you in to clockworkmod recovery, this is a custom recovery where most modding takes place. To navigate in recovery you use the volume keys to go up or down, power button is the back button, and the camera button is your enter/select button. A word of caution. Unless you know what you're doing, don't go in to any thing other than the instructions I laid out.

    tappin and a talkin
  11. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Okay so I get into the app, touch bootstrap recovery, then reboot recovery?

    One other thing, is this for the most part safe?
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Exactly. You will touch bootstrap recovery and then a message will pop up that says bootstrap success or something like that. Then you will press ok and then reboot recovery. This will turn the phone off and boot you in to cm recovery where you can follow my instructions.

    tappin and a talkin
  13. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    It didnt work. I used the file in this thread, did everything like you said but it didnt work.
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ok let's see if we can't figure out why. What exactly happened when you installed the. Zip file?

    tappin and a talkin
  15. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    A loading screen thing came up that said it was installing, then it took me to another screen after that, but i backed out of it and pressed reboot now like you said
  16. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    And the boot logo didn't revert back to stock? Ok let's try it again but this time when the progress bar is on screen try paying close attention to the words that scroll above it to see if it spits out an error message.

    tappin and a talkin
  17. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Okay, so it says boot image logo is now changed
    install from sd card complete.
    But it still comes up as the wrong logo
  18. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Just to clarify my situation, I installed an app called root tools and backed up my boot logo. but obviously it didn't work. but i realized this after i changed it. i didnt mean to change it, i was just scrolling through the list to see what they had. so then I installed boot logo changer to see if the had the stock D2 one. it said stock moto so I installed, and turns out, its not stock moto lol...
  19. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
  20. tb110895
    Offline

    tb110895 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Thank you. Even though this is in the DX forum, will it work with the 2 alright? just makin sure
Search tags for this page

need to boot motorola droid 2