Need a 'silent' ringtone

Mad1ben2

Reaction score
I've tried a search but haven't found what I need.

My sister just bought a D2 and wants to set the ringtone for certain contacts to "silence"... I have a DX and I don't seem to have a selectable ringtone that is basically "no ring" or "silence". How would she accomplish this? On my DX I can select music or android ringtones... so I guess if I could record silence as a song and then select that for my ringtone that is one way around it... but I'm relatively new to the Android system and my sister is extremely new to it... and lives in another city so I'd have to figure out how to walk her through it over the phone!!!

Would be nice if her D2 allowed her to simply select a silent ringtone (or no ringtone) on a contact by contact basis.

thoughts?

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
I have a Droid and never thought about using a silent ringtone. I just checked and there is not a silent ringtone. I can do vibrate, however.

OP
M

Mad1ben2

Reaction score
thanks, it never dawned on me either...

are you saying you can set a specific contact to "vibrate only" while allowing other calls to come through with an actual ringtone? I did see on my DX that for a specific contact I can select it to go straight to vmail....

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
I have a thought but it might take some digging on your part, there is an app called ringdroid that lets you make ringtones out of your MP3 files, rename it what you like (in this case...silence) and then it saves it in a file on your SD card and enables you to access it through the "Drop Down" list of ringtones alongside your system ringtones

Now the hard part is to find one of those CD's that has a blank track on it...if you can, you will be golden just get the blank track to your SD and make your ringtone

You could always record a short clip while trying to be quiet, but MP3 quality is always the best

Good Luck

Last edited:

DF Smod