Need a little help getting on track!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by doubleod, Oct 3, 2010.

1. doubleod

doubleod New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys! I'm pretty new to the whole rooting and adding roms. I have a Droid running FRG22D. I rooted it using this link:

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html

I successfully rooted my phone and gained superuser access.

I think I may have jumped the gun; I downloaded the Ultimate Droid ROM 5, saved it to my SD Card as 'update', then used ROMManager to load the ROM onto my phone (successfully). The ROM works great and I have only had one problem so far - I can't only choose one notification sound through the main menu...I can't have seperate notification sounds for, say, my Gmail and Handcent.

I did some looking around and found that I was supposed to do a backup with 'nandroid.' I have Astro installed and there is no nandroid folder and I didn't perform any type of backup. I literally rooted, then installed the ROM. I lost all my contacts but was able to get them synched through Google, but all my other items/settings were lost.

I need to know what exactly do I need to do to get back on track and have a proper backup and what is the 'right' process to downloading and installing a new ROM?

Thanks in advance everyone!

2. czerdrill

czerdrill Silver Member

Ratings:
    +12
    notification sounds for the individual apps are in the apps themselves. check the settings menus of each app, and you should see options for selecting notification sounds

3. BigZig

BigZig Member

Ratings:
    +5
    If you want a backup of the vanilla stock root you would have to re-flash the stock sbf. But if I where you just back up the current rom( if it is working good and you have no problems with it) just so you can go back to a working OS if you have problems loading new roms,kernels,or themes

4. doubleod

doubleod New Member

Ratings:
    +0