Navigation issue

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by droidx2010, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a reason that Dx can't connect to gps after entering a location quickly? I was taking someone to a restraunt & entered the exact address in the google navigation, it took FOREVER to have it do anything. I only got a message like "waiting for gps".
    My friend that had a 4G IPhone typed in the same address as I was driving & it came up immediately. This crap happens all the time with my phone. It takes forever to get a gps location.


    WTF is the problem??? I thought Dx was a good phone. Do I have some incorrect settings or something? I never had this problem when I 1st got the Dx.
  2. newmanx4
    Offline

    newmanx4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are you stock or rooted?

    Sent from my AOKP'd DROID X
  3. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    The DX is a good phone, but depending on the area you're in it might take a little while for it to connect to the GPS satellites and then download the directions for you. Even on my Razr Maxx it takes a couple minutes sometimes (and other times it's instant, again, it depends on the area you're in). Remember that the iPhone doesn't have the same type of navigation that Android has, it just uses 3G to get your location and then download directions. That means it might be faster but probably a little less accurate.

    All in all, you should probably just relax and give it a minute or two to find your directions. It's a tiny computer that you're carrying around in your pocket that can browse the internet and give you directions so if it takes a couple minutes to do that, you might just have to deal. If you really can't cope you could try clearing the cache for the app (Settings>Apps>Maps>Clear Cache and Settings>Apps>Navigation>Clear Cache), or clearing the cache for the device.
  4. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is stock. I thought rooting wasn't possible w/ the Dx.
  5. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this phone for 2 yrs. now and when I first got the phone I was able to get directions immediately. It was over the last 6 mos. or so this started happening.
    Just an FYI - I went to the Verizon store where I got my phone & they took the battery out (needed a reboot they said), cleared the Cache, and they also told me to do a *228 every 30 days or so. It had nothing to do with the area I'm in. Navigation works fine now.
    Thanks - your Cache clearing suggestion works fine as well. Go figure - the gal at Verizon said that most people with a 4g thinks their phone is actually 4g but it's not. They're only a 3g with updates.
  6. newmanx4
    Offline

    newmanx4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2012
  7. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yeah, what they call 4G isn't true 4G but supposedly it will be eventually. Part of the reason you used to be able to get directions instantly but not anymore is because as the cache builds up it can slow down the app
  8. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Read this. Might be worth a try for your GPS problem.

    GPS Help!

    Well, I did have it rooted but when it was just android. Then when the OS updated to Gingerbread, the root was useless. Now I have a superuser (with the crossbones) icon that I can't remove.
  9. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow - this seems like a common problem with the Dx. That really sux.
  10. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I had the DX for over a year and never saw issues with the GPS/Navigation, I guess I just got lucky. Part of that might have been the fact that it was always rooted and running a custom ROM
  11. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what root do you use?
  12. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    You mean what root method? Google how to root Droid X or D3 One Click, I'm on my phone so I can't link you. Root is root no matter what device you're on.
  13. newmanx4
    Offline

    newmanx4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    What is your system version in About Phone? If it's .621 you cannot use any one click root methods.

    Sent from my AOKP'd DROID X
  14. droidx2010
    Offline

    droidx2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's .605. - As I said earlier, I did have my phone rooted but on the old OS then when it updated to gb, the root didn't work. Where do I go for the one click root method?
  15. newmanx4
    Offline

    newmanx4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just Google how to root Droid X .605. There were several one click methods for it. Best I remember z4root was the best one.

    Sent from my AOKP'd DROID X
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  16. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    z4root won't work on GB, only FroYo. You need a computer to root GB.
  17. newmanx4
    Offline

    newmanx4 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yep. That's right. I've been on .621 since its release so I've forgotten everything about the older versions.

    Sent from my AOKP'd DROID X
  18. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,268
    Likes Received:
    591
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Hello savingparis .. welcome.. you should make an Introductory thread in the new members area..
Search tags for this page
droid dna gps waiting for location
,
droid dna navigator waiting for location
,
droid dna waiting for location
,
droid razr 4g waiting for location
,
droid razr waiting for location
,

galaxy s3 navigation waiting for location

,
galaxy s3 stuck at waiting for location
,

google maps stuck on waiting for location droid razr

,
gs3 android navigation waiting for location
,
htc dna navigation waiting for location
,
razr maxx waiting for location