Navigation experts needed.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by wil318466, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Today I ran into a situation that I didn't know how to correct. A main road was closed, and I needed to get to a desination WITHOUT using that road. Unforunately, I had to just stay on side roads and Google Nav kept trying to put me back on the road.

    Any suggestions from the pros?

    -Wil
     
  2. markmicallef

    markmicallef Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    touch menu
    then Route Info
    then touch the center icon at bottom of page, (it has 2 arrows on it)

    Then at the top of the screen it will have alternative routes, it also lists Miles and time for each route
     
  3. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I know about this. This doesn't let you exclude a particular road, though.
     
  4. markmicallef

    markmicallef Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, if you can exclude a road, it's well hidden.
     
  5. Shanged

    Shanged Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interested in knowing this as well.
    As a side note, why does the traffic view suck so much in navigation mode? It just gives you an overview of the entire trip (so far as I can tell)?
    I would like to be able to look ahead to see if there is traffic or closures without exiting navigation mode.
     
  6. KevinJ

    KevinJ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the program is a "beta" version. May I suggest contacting the developers? I know in the latest version there is a link to do that for bugs & suggestions. Who knows? Perhaps they will integrate some new things.
     
  7. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    To the OP there are a lot of features still missing (including some basic rerouting options). Remember this is still a Beta release and it has a long way to go.

    To the above poster what exactly are you trying to find? If you activate the traffic layer you can go along the route and see the traffic conditions. If your wanting something like live detail traffic coverage than you need to buy an actual nav system. Remember this is a FREE app and service (which again is still in Beta). The premiums that you pay for other devices are one reason competitors have a better layout AND better access to more detail.
     
  8. Slighter

    Slighter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ditto - Beta - $Free$. One step at a time.