Nandroid backup???

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hodgewdm, Aug 4, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    It there anyway to restore a nandroid backup after you manually update to 2.2. I did the power x thing then get the triangle and exclamation point. Takes me to this
    Android system recovery <3e>
    Use d-pad to highlight: center to select

    reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    wipe baseband data


    Can i apply the 2.01 update.zip? to go back? I have 2.2 with the ninja in the app drawer. Not rooted though.
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Perhaps I wrong but I believe the triangle with the exclamation indicates that you are not or have lost root.
  3. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    That is the stock recovery. It is possible to have lost your custom recovery but retained root.

    I would reflash either SPRecovery or clockwork and try again
  4. deaf leppy
    Offline

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The triangle means you lost your custom recovery, and you can't restore nandroid backups with the stock recovery. So try flashing your old recovery, be it SP or CW, and then you should be able to restore.

    Edit: We posted at the same time.. my bad.
  5. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it okay to flash sprecovery with 2.2 loaded?
  6. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I do restore, is it possible to unroot with the old dmupdater on 2.01? Then manually push the 2.1 update, then 2.2
  7. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have not seen it posted that it cannot be done. I haven't tried. worked with 2.1, I know that probably doesn't mean much but i would assume 'cause as far as i know the 2.1 stock recovery is the same as 2.2 stock recovery
  8. deaf leppy
    Offline

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe it is, but what's the point? I don't think you need to go all the way to 2.0.1 to unroot, just to 2.1. Then OTA 2.2.. But Pete rooted the 2.2 OTA, so you could give that a shot too..
  9. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, i'm saying just flash SPR with RSD and install Pete's. Not downgrade OS ver. at all.
  10. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never really had a custom rom though. Rooted with dmupater way back. I installed sprecovery a couple weeks back and thought i might reroot. I didn't. I mistakenly restore a nandroid backup which took me back to 2.01 with root(superuser) and dmupdater in app drawer. Updated to 2.1 super user ninja still there. Updated to 2.2 still there. I don't have root access though. I just want to get rid of the ninja in case i have to take my phone in for anything...
  11. deaf leppy
    Offline

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aghh, we posted at the same time again.. Sorry, that wasn't a reply to your post. Just trying to add my own input.
  12. deaf leppy
    Offline

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then I don't think you ever even lost root.. How did you update those 2 times? Just use SP to install an update.zip? If that's what you did, then you didn't lose root.
  13. hodgewdm
    Offline

    hodgewdm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    When the 2.1 update came out I unrooted and updated. I must have saved a nandroid copy of when I was rooted with 2.01. When i applied the 2.1 update i went to sprecovery and did it from there. i think that update got rid of sprecovery and went to the new recovery updater for 2.2. I just don't want to brick my phone..
  14. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's not a new recovery that's the stock recovery. If you want to use a nandroid backup you will have to flash SPRecovery.
  15. deaf leppy
    Offline

    deaf leppy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's really no chance of bricking your phone here, so don't worry about that. Like tallica said, you'll have to flash SP if you want to restore the nandroid.
Search tags for this page
android system recovery <3e> nandroid update
,

android system recovery 3e backup

,

android system recovery 3e no backup

,
android system recovery backup
,
system recovery 3e backup and restore