Nandroid Backup/SPRecovery

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by PBarn, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. PBarn

    PBarn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just flashed BB.05 from Peter Alfonso and wanted to restore my screen layouts and apps from a Nandroid backup. I have all of the categories checked off when I did the backup so I have all of them to choose from when doing a partial recovery.

    I suppose I need to know what parts of the backup can I put back on without affecting the updated OS. So, what are functions of cache, misc, data, recovery, system, and boot?
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I regret to say that the Nandroid backup will not restore just a portion. It replaces the entire OS. If you want to save apps/data check out MybackUp Pro and Titanium. Both are excellent apps and well worth the few dollars.

    Mike
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    +1 on that.

    Nandroids are great but they're COMPLETE backups. They replace everything that was there previously. If all you want is to back up your apps/texts/etc you'll need an app from the Market for that. See previous suggestions.
     
  4. droijo

    droijo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you are using other launchers such as ADW or LauncherPro, it has the option to restore your desktop configuration.
     
  5. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    DO NOT TRY THIS WITH OUT A BACKUP!!!!

    You can try to restore JUST the data, but you might get a boot loop. When upgrading ROMs through the same developer, I will wipe/reset 3 times, flash the new ROM, and restore the Data to the new ROM. It restores my apps, messages, login info, etc. If you are changing Developers, I would expect boot loops, especially with bb 0.5