Nandroid backup fails

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by markml0528, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. markml0528

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been trying to use the droid 3 boostrap (official one from cwm on market) to create a nandroid backup but its not working. When it reboots the phone and I select backup, it begins backing up but then it says "cannot mount sd card". Not certain what I should do.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Do you have enough space on the card? If so then I would move everything from the card to your PC, format it and put everything back on it and try again.
     
  3. markml0528

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid 3 (or anyones for that matter) did not come preloaded with an SD card. The internal memory has been partitioned so that part of it acts as an SD card and the rest is internal storage.
     
  4. TyrannoTaurus

    TyrannoTaurus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm pretty sure you have to have an actual external SD card to do a backup.

    Sent from my Rooted Droid 3
     
  5. Jerminator617

    Jerminator617 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lumberton, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah you have to have an external sd card to backup

    Sent from my rooted DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  6. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    Yup, no SD no backup. Nandroids can't be saved to partitioned internal memory because it'll get wiped on a factory reset.
     
  7. nu2droid

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Ratings:
    +2
    My D3 didn't come with one either. I asked verizon why and they said, "its got 16gb internal, you don't need one". Haha I put my old one in anyway. It made coming from the D1 easier.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
android why are my nandroid backups failing 2014
,
failed to create nandroid backup
,
how to make a nandroid backup when it fails
,
nandroid backub ext fail
,

nandroid backup failing

,
nandroid backup fails on new sd
,
thunderbolt nandroid fails