Nandroid back up question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by kjohnson, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

    I've been following the 2.1 guide (very well written, thank you!) and I've got to the step where I do the Default Nandroid Backup. It's been backing up...for an hour now.

    My battery was around 40-50% when I started this. Could be a problem or no? Should I pull the battery or would that just completely send my phone into a downward spiral? Just didn't think it would take this long - although I do have 101 apps. I mean 5 minutes at most but this is crazy.

    Any other thoughts?
     
  2. zparrish

    zparrish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, mine only took like 4 min if that... are you on the step where your backing up your old image?
     
  3. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, sorry. This is the first backup of my original image...I really want to pull the battery and just charge it up and wait until later tonight to give it a go again but I want to be sure I'm not over reacting first haha
     
  4. zparrish

    zparrish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be fine. Like I said mine only took like 4 min.. I had a buddy that his did the same thing, he just re-did it and it worked fine the 2nd time. So I'd say you would be fine :)
     
  5. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So battery pull shouldn't affect what I have on there as of now? I think I will if you don't think it will. Thanks a ton!
     
  6. zparrish

    zparrish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It shouldn't, cause when you go to do it again, it will just re write over long as your not loading the new flash image you should be fine.
     
  7. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pulled and put back in. Rebooted fine :) Time to wait patiently and retry. I had the phone plugged into the computer when I started the backup and then unplugged and blah blah blah...this time I'll leave it unplugged when it doesn't need to be. Thanks again.
     
  8. zparrish

    zparrish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    not a problem, I would leave the phone unplugged next go around, if you have anyquestions pm me!
     
  9. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    question z! i've got the nandroid folder on my sd card...after the reboot. what is supposed to be inside of this? I've got 3 things. boot.img recovery.img and misc.img I have a feeling it didn't complete? Just wondering if this is the whole backup.
     
  10. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else had any problems with an original Nandroid backup? Second attempt and I'm at ~10 minutes of waiting.
     
  11. kjohnson

    kjohnson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump. Am I doing something wrong here?
     
  12. zparrish

    zparrish Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    K, I don't think your doing anything wrong, if your too that step it should automatically build you a file then finish,.