myLock in Market! Skip the Lock Screen!

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Martin030908, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    myLock will bypass/remove/skip the 'slide to unlock' lock screen. Only the power button can 'wake' the phone!


    myLock has been floating around DroidForums for a while. It's better known as the "we don't like the lockscreen" thread.
    Found here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/an...al-mylock-thread-we-dont-like-lockscreen.html

    It's finally in the Market! :icon_ banana: The developer has been very responsive here on the forums. Now every one can benefit from his work with any easy Market download! We need to support developers like this!

    *petjakob is the developer for myLock* DONATE TO SUPPORT DEVELOPMENT

    Troubleshooting/Tips:

    If you're experiencing an issue with myLock reverting to the lock screen, and you're using Handcent's Pop-Up, there is a setting you should be aware of.
    Go into Handcent > Settings > Pop-Up Setting.... Make sure "Show on locked" in not checked. Handcent's Pop-Up uses the same 'call' to the OS to bypass the lock screen in order to display the pop-up. Leaving this option checked (enabled) doubles the call to the OS to disable the lock screen, which can cause myLock to not work properly.
    As long as your Handcent Pop-Up settings are enabled for "Screen on for Popup", it will call the OS to 'wake' the screen, which will in turn tell myLock to bypass the lock screen. This will avoid any conflict with myLock and Handcent's Pop-Up.
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
  2. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    +1 for a 5 star rating from me so far
  3. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the tip, Martin! Downloaded and like the app so far, (but then with your recommendation, how could I go wrong?) :D
  4. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Just got it downloaded and turned on.

    I have Weather Widgets Donate. When I push the power button to come out of sleep mode, the "slide to unlock" shows briefly then it goes to my homepage. I get a message about the widget not loading and then it tells me to push the home or back button to get my widget back. Seems weird. If this persists, I will have to remove this app.

    -Mike
  5. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, Mike, not getting anything like that here. Screen goes to sleep and when I press the power button, I get a big digital time display. It tells me to hit back to resume last screen or home to return to launcher. Maybe you got a bad or incomplete download? Might be worth retrying.
  6. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Good idea. I am getting the same behavior as you regarding hit back or home tho. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Kinda irritating how the "slide to unlock" shows up for about two seconds when I push power though. You don't get that at all? Maybe my phone is bogged down from other apps running?

    -Mike
  7. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    curious...what happens when a incoming call comes in?
  8. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Good question! I just called my phone from my land line to find out.

    For me, the screen lit up, the "slide to unlock" screen came on for about two seconds, then the slide to answer or ignore option came up. After I hung up, I got a force close on the mylock app. :(

    -Mike
  9. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, now I do, because when I was first playing with it the last screen I was on was the same one the app is on (and no hint of the slide lock). This time, the last screen I was on was different than where the app is and I do see the old slide lock for maybe a second now... Don't know if I explained that very well, but see if it's the same for you.
  10. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    I did some more research here, and on the website for the guy who made myLock. It is by design that the "slide to unlock" screen appears momentarily.

    I'm going to test some more later today on the force close after I answer a call though.

    -Mike
  11. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Can I ask what's so bad about the slide to unlock...?
  12. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not bad, it's just two motions -- some people would prefer a single motion.

    I may try this when
    1) All the bugs are worked out
    2) It doesnt temporarily show the slide lock screen (I'm sort of anal about dumb stuff like that)
    3) The sweet "shake to unlock" feature is working
  13. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    yes you can
  14. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    It does show up briefly sometimes, however, the brief second it shows up takes less time than swiping they keyboard so I don't really mind. It is ever so slightly irritating to see it but better than swiping.
  15. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    I DL'd this last night for the first time.....and last night it was working, although like Matth3w was talking about, the lockscreen would show up for a second or 2 before skipping it....

    But this morning, I brought my phone out of sleep, and it stayed on the lockscreen like normal?? Like I forgot that myLock was even turned til I seen the icon up in the notifications bar...so I tried it again by locking the phone and sure enough when I pressed the power button it DID NOT skip the lockscreen, I had to slide it across to get into my phone....

    Very weird...
  16. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Are you sure it is enabled? Go into the settings and make sure you didn't accidentally uncheck the box.
  17. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you're on a phone call, myLock is not going to interfere because, by default, the lock screen is disabled by the OS when on a phone call.

    If you go into the myLock app there are some settings you can change.
    - Place settings launcher in notifcations : places an icon in the notifaction bar
    - Keep screen awake : self explanatory
    - Use widget welcome screen as lock screen: Enabling/disabling this function will change whether you see the slide to unlock screen briefly or the welcome screen from myLock.

    The way myLock works is this.... it has to wait for the OS to call on the lock screen "ie wake up" and then it runs to bypass the screen. So this is where the 'flicker' of the lock screen is coming from. The lock screen has to be called upon first for this app to run.
    It has improved greatly since the first alpha and I'm sure will continue to improve.
  18. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any of the options in the app enabled. Seems to run best for me this way. I found leaving the "notication bar" setting caused the lock screen to sometimes re appear.

    What I have found that works is this. Disable all the check marks. If you still get this issue.... power down, do a battery pull and you should be fine.
    Keep in mind this app is still being ironed out. :)
  19. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Thanks for the info guys....I'll check that out...

    And yeah I know it's still in beta and has some ways to be improved, it is still a good handy little tool to have though...I'm not doggin it I swear!!
  20. Pagey33
    Offline

    Pagey33 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works great.
    Use widget welcome screen doesn't work for me though.
    Which is fine....I just don't select it.

    Thank you!
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
Search tags for this page
screen lock bypass pro 4 android full version
,
android phone bypass lock screen incoming call
,
download lock bypass pro free
,
free screen lock bypass pro apk
,

mylock apk

,

screen lock bypass apk

,
screen lock bypass pro apk
,
screen lock bypass pro apk download
,
screen lock bypass pro full version apk
,
screen lock bypass pro.apk
,
screenlockbypass.pro
,
umi 1x pro lock screen with name