My X's wifi issues resolved (Maybe)

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by rboutin2, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. rboutin2

    rboutin2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, after playing around today with a few apps, called twonkey media server, webshare, and droimote, I've come to the conclusion that my router is the thing that is at fault with my x. I was able to do everything i've been trying without a problem at my parents on their belkin router. I come back home to my netgear wpn824 v3, and just a world of hurt again. So, i guess a lil heads up to yall, if you are having wifi problems and no fixes ever seem to fix it, then its prolly ur router. I will be sure to post back when i buy my new router and let yall know for sure if that is what it is.
     
  2. rboutin2

    rboutin2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry, forgot to ask a couple questions. Is it at alll possible for my x to make it so I get kicked off xbox live? And, what router would yall recommend for the droid and droid x? My gf has the original droid, and she cant use our wifi either.
     
  3. hoola

    hoola New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a cheap belkin/surf from walmart. $35. I have been on a laptop/droid x/ ps3/and gentouch tablet pretty much all day without a hitch with highest security settings
     
  4. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a Linksys wrt320n that covers b, g, and n. but linksys firmware kinda sucks so i put dd-wrt firmware on it.
     
  5. zamslam

    zamslam New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The trick is to use g and not n until Verizon or Moto fix their heinous defect.
     
  6. rboutin2

    rboutin2 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    my router dont even support n lol
     
  7. Dr.Dad

    Dr.Dad Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    WiFi issues again

    I, too, had wifi issues on my home network. I read about switching the security from WPS2 to WPA or something like that (Switching from AES to TKIP). This worked immediately on my X, but it slowed down my home computer quite a bit....
    so I changed the setting from "neighbor friendly" 150 Mbps to 300 Mbps.
    This solution worked for about 3 days, but now my phone says it is connected, but nothing that actually requires the internet is working on the phone on the wifi network.

    Any suggestions/ help? thank you in advance!