My VZW Droid 2 Global will not update to Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Gyakusetsu, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've heard on many droid news outlets that my Droid 2 Global is supposed to have an available Gingerbread update that you access by going to settings > about phone > system updates, however when I do this, it tells me that my device is up to date.

    Yes, my phone is rooted, but I tried to do the same thing on my mom's phone (and she has done NOTHING to it since purchase besides adding contacts and installing about 4 apps) and I still get the "device is up to date" message.

    I am running system version 2.4.330.A956.Verizon.en.US, Android version 2.2

    Anyone else having this issue/can help? Or is there an .apk or something from the internet I can just download to force the update? I have no problem with a complicated install, I just want my dern update like everyone else! :icon_eek:
  2. Byakushiki
    Offline

    Byakushiki New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Usea
    VZW very *kindly* (sarcasm meter broke) with-held that update from us due to bugs. No one we know of has it at the moment, and the only way to get gingerbread is to install a custom rom like cm or MIUI.
  3. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you... that's all I needed someone to say, but nobody on zeh net seems to have asked the question properly. :p
  4. djwill48
    Offline

    djwill48 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm bumping this because I have another question...

    FINALLY the update is available and has downloaded just fine. Unfortunately, my phone doesn't seem to like it. After download, the option comes up to install now or install later. Of course I want to install it now, so I try that.. the phone shuts off, the installation image shows and the progress bar gets to about 25% and then has an error. The phone then boots normally.

    My phone is rooted, and I tried un-rooting it, but still have the problem. It is especially annoying because after a failed attempt, the update deletes itself and has to be re-downloaded again which takes about 30 minutes even on wifi.

    Anyone have any suggestions? Do I need to restore it to factory settings before this will work? If so, how does one do that?
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    What did you try to do to unroot it? If you deleted or froze any system apps when you rooted, the update will fail. It looks for all the stocks apks and if they are not present the update will error out like it has been for you.
  7. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used z4root to root/unroot it. The only stock apps I deleted were bloatware such as Blockbuster, amazon kindle, and VZWNavigator... stuff I knew I could just re-download (or saved a backup of the apk) if need be.

    I suppose I should be more specific, though... it just gets to the unpacking part of the update and stops. Could I be out of space on my phone? I doubt it needs 6GB+ of space to unpack to.

    Is there a list of stock apps that need to be there that I can cross-reference with?
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I do not know that there is a list of ones that needs to be there. But even though those are useless apps I am pretty sure it is still the reason. The way the update works is it literally updates or patches existing apks. If they are not there, when it tries to apply that specific part of the update it errors out.
  9. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So should I revert to stock using something like this: Droid 2 Global: Reverting to Stock - xda-developers or am I doomed if I forgot to back up a random apk? I suppose a user created rom isn't that bad, but I do like the verizon stock interface (I may be the only one here that does, lol).
  10. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No that should work just fine and is what I would have suggested. Something I normally do before I touch a single thing is create a nandroid back up of everything completely stock and unaltered just in case I ever need it for upgrading or any purpose.
  11. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool, so I flashed my phone to factory (didn't clear data/cache because I didn't feel like losing all my texts), and all my bloatware reappeared. Had to update from 2.3 to 2.4 before getting to 2.5, but it did work! Now to wait for someone to create a root access for the new update............ I like my overclock and reboot buttons.......... :icon_ banana:
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    There actually is root access for it. It is the D3 One-Click Method but works on any Moto device running GB. You do need a computer though.

    This is the one that I have been using and linked a number of people to, check out the thread HERE.
  13. Gyakusetsu
    Offline

    Gyakusetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well dang if you aren't just the most helpful person I've talked to all week. Thank you so much! :)
    1 person likes this.
  14. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No problem!! Always glad to help out :)
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global gingerbread update download

,
droid 2 global update not available
,
droid 2 global wont update
,
droid 2 global wont update to 4
,
droid 2 global wont upgrade android version
,
droid 2 wont install update
,

droid 2 wont update

,

droid 2 wont update to gingerbread

,
how many system updates are there for droid 2 global
,

my droid 2 global wont update

,
update my droid 2 global
,
why wont my droid 2 global update