1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My video of Droid running Bugless Beast at 800mhz

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jrl9851, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For those who want to see what it's like. Hard to tell from the video, but there are no "hiccups" or slowdown when scrolling through stuff. Everything is just much faster.




    Sorry for the background noise (just mute it). It's windy here and that just the wind coming through the vents.


    Here is another video of stock 550 vs 950:

  2. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nice, i have the beast too. :)
  3. justbob
    Offline

    justbob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice. Is that a Zonda on your wallpaper?
  4. olletsocmit
    Offline

    olletsocmit New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what method did you use to overclock, and are there instructions
  5. MK-9
    Offline

    MK-9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With a 1-2 knockout punch of laziness and lack of time. So instead of searching, I'm going to ask what would be a newb question from a fairly tech savvy guy.

    Am I going to have to root my Droid to run one of the overclocking roms?
  6. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you have to root to run a custom rom.
  7. wil318466
    Offline

    wil318466 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish I had a video camera, I'd put up a video of mine running Smoked Glass at 950.

    -Wil
  8. MK-9
    Offline

    MK-9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pretty well figured as much, just didn't want to assume. Thanks.
  9. bal81
    Offline

    bal81 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey i saw u went to srtforums, i used to be on there alot more im brad@realtune
  10. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'm too afraid to go up to 950. 800 is absolutely perfect for me.
  11. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm still to scared to dive in and root, although it is tempting as hell. But I can't seem to find any completely clear, concise directions. Old age has gotten to me, I remember "rooting" my Motorola E815 (even though that wasn't really a root), but now I'm a little wary to do it.
  12. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just followed this:

    Obtaining Root | Root Your Droid


    And then went to here and started on step 9:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...ng-only-sprecovery-terminal-emulator-zip.html



    That's it.
  13. FreddyChevy
    Offline

    FreddyChevy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^^This I decided to root last nite after i read the other Beast for Noobz thread(35 pages)I couldnt take it anymore I literally started at 3 to 4'o clock,after hangups and resetting I finally rooted my droid to bb 7.4 and I couldn't be happier although its some small bugs I'm encountering its nothing that makes me regret it.Plus I can go back to 2.0.1 anytime I want with a clean install.All I can say is it's worth a try after you run your Droid at 800mhz u won't regret it.
  14. polack
    Offline

    polack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I'm getting ready to root and run BB tonight but i have just a couple of questions. First if i don't like it can i go back to my previous phone setup? Not stock but stock with my changes, like home ++ and all my custom made icons? second when i run any of these custom roms do i keep my current icons and home++ or does that get wiped and i have to use someone elses design?
  15. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I honestly can't answer those questions..hopefully someone else can.
  16. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    It depends on if you wipe your data or not during the process of installing a ROM...it is better to wipe your data to avoid future little bugs and what not, but I mean, I've installed ROMs before without wiping my data if that was an option, and didn't have but maybe a few minor bugs with the ROM. Just install one of Pete's update.zip files and you won't lose data
  17. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just make a nandroid backup and everything will be back the way you want it if you dont like the ROM. Just simply restore back. Easy peazy. Of course, you will still be rooted ;)
  18. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    man, had I known performing the actual root itself was going to be this easy I wouldn't have held off for so long. since I just rooted, should I create a backup now? and how do I do it?
  19. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    In the bugless beast install, you will do a backup. It's already in the steps. It will have you do it before you put the BB rom on.

    In the link I posted...not sure about other guides.
  20. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    none of it is really that hard. it's just kinda scary if you've never done this type of thing before. i also wish i had done it earlier but i was kinda scared.