My Verizon Data button

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by JOSHSKORN, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have not quite figured out how to get this button to work. Let me explain.

    I can easily login to my account from a PC using the head account's username and password, but this does not seem to work with My Verizon Data. So I guess a few questions:

    • Do I use the main account login for this?
    • Am I creating a sub-account for my phone data only?
    • How does this work and what can I see from it? Just my phone's data or every phone on the account?
    @Moderators: I do have a DROID RAZR MAXX which is why I posted this question in this forum, but if this question is suited better in a different forum, please move. I'm assuming this feature is available in other models, as well. Thanks.
     
  2. William_04_x

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    You use the main account login, just like on your PC. You can access detailed info for any device on the account, change plan features, purchase accessories, etc. Its a very comprehensive management tool.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
     
  3. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I just tried it on my PC, then on my phone. I even clicked "Show Password" so I knew I wasn't inputting the wrong password, then got the message "User name and password do not match". What could be wrong? There's no question, I know I'm inputting the correct information and I keep my phone's apps up-to-date.

    Edit: Here's a thought. Do I need to pay extra to be able to manage my account from my phone? Is that why I could be locked out? Or maybe enable some feature?
     
  4. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    You have to be on data (3G/4G) and not Wifi. Could that be your issue?
     
  5. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just disabled wireless and restarted. Launched My Verizon Data and got this message:

    Any thoughts? Still can't login when I input my Username/Password.
     
  6. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +61
    Try using your phone # for user ID . E- mail might also be it. If that fails, I'd just call tech support, they'll fix it!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  7. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +61
    Also make sure your phone number is listed as "acct owner" so you have access to all lines on your acct!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  8. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks. I got it. Apparently the main username/password for the main account did not work. I had to make a new account, which appears to be a sub-account. I found this out by entering my phone number to try to retrieve my account, which it wasn't found.
     
  9. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +61
    But...happened to me.. make sure your number is listed as "ACCT OWNER" so you can access info for all phones on your acct. with your My Verizon Data Widget! If not then you'll only have access to your data info only! I mess that up on my computer when I first set it up!
    Glad you got it working though ;-)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  10. JOSHSKORN

    JOSHSKORN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks, I saw your previous reply, too. I'm not sure if I want to list mine as "ACCT OWNER". I really only need to to view how many texts I've sent. That said, what I have now, works just fine. The thought of, what if my phone gets into the wrong hands, also comes to mind. I don't want to set it up so a thief could have their way with my account, either. I haven't played around with the app enough to know what I currently can and cannot do, but if you say I can only view information, then that's just fine for me.
     
  11. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +61
    No, you can still pay your bill with it and everything! If you only need it for your stuff fine, but on my lines I have 2 kids I need to watch how much data their using! LOL ! By being "acct owner", its only extra access is you can see Min, Text , and Data for all phones! That's all.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
Search tags for this page

droid razr maxx error 300

,

droid razr my verizon temporarily unavailable 300

,

my verizon data error code 300

,

services temporarily unavailable try again later my verizon

,

vwezion error code 2/-1