1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My rebooting issues....

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by schmaltzy, May 17, 2011.

  1. schmaltzy
    Offline

    schmaltzy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had my TB for about a week and a half now. When in put on the update last week it ran just fine for 2 days. Then the reboots started. It happened twice in a span of about 12 hours. The next day it happened about 3 times so I tweeted @VZWSupport for help. They suggested a factory reset....

    VZWSupport VZW Support
    @
    @ryanschmaltz 4/4 Touch Menu >Touch Settings>Touch SD & phone storage> Touch Factory data reset> Tap Reset phone> Tap Erase everything. *CM
    14 May

    VZWSupport VZW Support
    @
    @ryanschmaltz 3/4 Make sure to back up important data you have on the phone before you reset your device. Follow the steps in my next tweet.
    14 May

    VZWSupport VZW Support
    @
    @ryanschmaltz 2/4 Resetting the phone deletes all data, including downloaded applications and resets the phone back to its initial state.
    14 May

    VZWSupport VZW Support
    @
    @ryanschmaltz 1/4 I would suggest completing a factory reset. There maybe applications that are corrupting the phone after the update.


    Did everything they suggested and now the reboots are WORSE! I had 7 yesterday that I for sure know about. I tweeted VZWSupport again yesterday and this is what they responded.....

    VZWSupport VZW Support
    @
    @ryanschmaltz At this time ,we are working on a solution to resolve the re-boot issue. Thank you for your patience. *CM


    This is getting ridiculous. Since my phone isn't very old I would think it's from the "newer" batch. I saw some posts about it maybe being a problem if you had one of the first TB's.

    Anyone have any other suggestions short of rooting and throwing on a ROM? I'm wondering if I should even do another factory reset?
  2. Bowtie
    Offline

    Bowtie Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rainier, Oregon
    At this point I would say it can't hurt it, give it a try and if a second reload doesn't fix it, at least you have tried it twice and can eliminate that part of it. Try doing it with out reloading any apps.
  3. schmaltzy
    Offline

    schmaltzy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the point though? I shouldn't have to factory reset my phone multiple times and not reload apps in order to make the phone perform at a level it should. Factory resetting is just a pain cause then you have to go though and set everything back up again.
  4. BigMcGuire
    Offline

    BigMcGuire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Since the majority of users out there do not experience as many restarts - what applications do you have installed/what applications do you use on a daily basis?

    Try a factory restart and just use the base applications (install NO apps) for a few days and see if you get any restarts. This rules out the phone as the cause of the restarts (or implicates it, in which any sane VW rep would allow you to switch, right?).
  5. jray1
    Offline

    jray1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rainsville, AL
    Do you have "bump" installed on the phone? If so remove it. It was causing random reboots on my Dx with GB installed.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Verizon told me that they are aware of the reboot issue that is caused by the new update and HTC is aware and hey are putting pressure on HTC to fix this issue and push another update soon. I decided not to root untilafter this update and hopefullyby then unrevoked will have a root process in place and reboot will be a thing of the past.

    ridin the lightning
  7. markinwyo
    Offline

    markinwyo New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a microsd 32gb class 10 card that I used for digital photography and video. I copied everything from the stock card over and it seems to have stopped the random reboots. I think like many of us, I pushed all apps to the SD card since my internal mem is around 2gb free. I am wondering if the system is trying to read and write to fast for the stock card to keep up, hence the reboots.

    I will keep track of my reboots for a couple of days and see what happens. It has gone from 9 a day to what appears to be none.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  8. sac4
    Offline

    sac4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had all the same problems as OP and verizon said I had two options one is take it to a verzion store and have them flash the software since the OTA update was giving lots of people problems or they could send me a replacement phone. The vz rep said I should just get a replacment so thats What I did. So far one day trouble free. They said a small % of people the factory restet will help but most it will do nothing.
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why the need to push apps to the sdcard?
  10. markinwyo
    Offline

    markinwyo New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am an apps junkie ( I wonder if there is an app to help stop my app addiction) and by pushing the apps to the SD I can have more.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  11. markinwyo
    Offline

    markinwyo New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone have Gingerbread on the TB? If so are you experiencing random reboots? If not then maybe Verizon should OTA the big update sooner.


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  12. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Don't feel you're alone. Me too!
    I put a 32 gb in my D1 and it worked for a day maybe more and then went nuts. Random lock ups, reboots. I removed the new card and replaced the stock one and it's still slow laggy but doesn't lock up or reboot.
    Can't check the class of it, as I opened the case it zipped off somewhere and I can't find it. Sigh,,,,

    At any rate the correct class of SD card might be mandatory.