My phone runs really slow!

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by mustangdroid, May 13, 2013.

  1. mustangdroid
    Offline

    mustangdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is really slow and sluggish. It feels like a computer when its running with the CPU at 100%. When I press the home screen from any app it takes about 2 seconds to go to the home screen and the apps on the screen take a couple of seconds to appear. I downloaded an app to check the CPU usage and it shows 100% on both CPUs. Sometimes I have to turn off the phone just to make it better but after a few minutes it goes back being slow. Another problem is that when I type something, the words take a while to appear on the screen after I typed them. So what can I do? It seems that my sister in law's RAZR HD is the same way because she is always complaining on how slow it is. Also how can I get rid of the annoying reloading of Google chrome when I exit it and come back to it? Because it doesn't even refresh the page. Thanks!
  2. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    I'm going to make the assumption that there is not a hardware or firmware problem on your phone. If that is in fact the case then there are a couple of things you can check/do:

    --If you are running a task killer or task manager (3rd party) get rid of it. They almost always cause more problems than they solve or are worth.
    --Check to see what apps you have running and what apps/widgets do you have syncing data, and how often do they sync. Facebook is a prime example of an app, depending on the settings, that will absolutely kill performance if it is running all the time. You can go to settings>apps>running and get a good idea of what apps are running. If you see apps running that you don't use then disable them if you can. Or, uninstall them if you can. You can also download a 3rd party app that will keep track of apps and the resources that they are using. I doubt that your phone is faulty...it is probably an app that is hogging the resources and causing the lag.
    --What kind/how strong is you signal. If you are in a weak signal area and the apps you are running rely on downloaded data/content then that too can be the cause of a lag.
    --Your last resort maybe the best...do a factory reset. That will wipe your phone clean and give you a fresh start. Add you apps back one of two at a time and observe to see if the lag begins again. If it does then one of the apps you just installed is probably causing the problem.
  3. mustangdroid
    Offline

    mustangdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    --No Task killer or anything like that.
    --I dont have many apps running in the background, I basically have the basics like settings, smart service, audio effects, camera, email, etc. I'm showing 580MB of RAM used and 243MB free
    -- I have strong signal, I always have 4g and full bars
    -- I really dont want to do a factory reset but if this continues I will be force to.
  4. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Try wiping cache before you resort to a factory reset.

    Turn the phone off.
    Hold power + volume up + volume down
    Release when a black screen appears with white words.
    Use volume down to highlight recovery
    Press volume up to select it.
    At the dead android screen hold volume down and tap volume up
    Scroll with volume to wipe cache
    Power to select
    Then reboot.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  5. mustangdroid
    Offline

    mustangdroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will try that next. What are the effects of this? Does it erase anything?

    Oh and how do I get rid of that chrome browser reloading the page like if it was refreshing but it doesn't refresh it?
  6. samwifi
    Offline

    samwifi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most of the lag in the RAZR hd maxx is due to the crappy Motorola launcher. Download nova launcher or go launcher ex and set your phone free... Believe me.. Give it shot.
  7. sjmerlo
    Offline

    sjmerlo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I downloaded Nova Launcher and cannot believe how much faster my phone responds. Thanks!
  8. jojo_blu
    Offline

    jojo_blu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    Mine was runny so slow it got so aggravating.
    I cleared the cache & it took care of the sluggishness.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD using Droid Forums
  9. swharshbar
    Offline

    swharshbar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    State College, Pa
    How does this work? Is the "look" the same as stock but just runs better? Can it be uninstalled like other apps?

    Can you give more details?
  10. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    532
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Not sure about the looks compared to your stock launcher. I don't have that phone. But it can be uninstalled & won't effect the stock launcher. But you may have to redo your screens

    Tapped from a Nexus
  11. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Nova launcher looks about the same, has more options but the circles widget will NOT work on third party launchers. No bug deal for me, but may be for you.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  12. recDNA
    Offline

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Download android assistant. It will tell you if any background apps are using excessive amounts of cpu (over 2 %). If so try uninstalling and reinstalling that app or clear its cache or uninstall it if you don't need it.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
  13. jojo_blu
    Offline

    jojo_blu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    I installed Nova Launcher / Nova Prime for $4. I don't notice any more speed at all & now my battery lasts half as long. I keep an eye out for apps running. i keep shutting down stuff like facebook etc just like i did before installing Nova. I dont do anything different than i did a week ago. My 32 hr battery life is horrible now. im thinking of uninstalling Nova.
  14. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    If you still have a lot of screens with lots of widgets on the stock home launcher while running another home launcher on top of that, it can bog down your phone and use more battery.

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
  15. jojo_blu
    Offline

    jojo_blu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nj
    so what do i do to fix this? my battery life went down by 50%
  16. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    If you still have the stock home launcher set up with lots of widgets, go to the stock launcher and remove the widgets. See if that helps.

    Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
  17. snowman
    Offline

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    you still need to clear the cache if you didn't as cliff told you I do it at least once a month
  18. Pegleg
    Offline

    Pegleg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ferndale, WA
    How to accomplish Clearing Cache?

    When I try that I seee the following:

    AP Flashboot Flash Mode (S)
    10.98(*) (sha-1e9f557, 2013-02-14 09:13:08)
    eMMC Info: Size 32GB

    Device is LOCKED. Status Code:0

    Battery OK

    Connect USB
    Data Cable


    Fastboot Reason: Key pressed



    So how can I get to where I can clear my cache?

    Thanks much,
    Pegleg
  19. swharshbar
    Offline

    swharshbar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    State College, Pa
    Outside chance you've got a dud. I consistently get 35-45 hours on a single charge. I'd consider a factory reset and start over and see if that helps. If not, I'd be calling Verizon for a new phone from the sounds of it. After a factory reset, I'd only install 1-2 apps at a time (giving each one a day or so of run time) and see if one of those is causing the issue.
  20. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try booting in safe mode. When you went into
    the sub-menu with Recovery, etc., it seems that you
    accidentally selected the wrong item.
    First go to Recovery...select, THEN Clear Cache.
    The exact method is on an older post.
    I say this as I was making the same mistake.
    However, even after clearing system and application
    caches, doing FDR'S, disabling crap apps, etc., my
    battery life is horrible. Will try another (#4)
    phone replacement. I have VERY FEW apps on my phoneGood luck.
    BTW, you can Google Clearing System Cache for RAZR
    Maxx HD.
Search tags for this page
android running slow
,
droid razr maxx hd running slow
,

droid razr maxx running slow

,

droid razr running slow

,

droid razr slow

,
my droid razr is slow
,

my phone is running slow

,

my phone is slow

,

phone is running slow

,

phone running slow

,
razr maxx running slow
,
why is my android so slow
,
why is my droid razr slow
,
why is my phone running slow
,

why is my phone so slow