1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

My phone is msising calls left and right--it isn't ringing about 50% of the time...

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by OpalCat, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    I'm currently running DroidMod 1.0 but considering changing ROMs to see if that will fix it. Is that likely to help? Or am I barking up the wrong tree? And what I want from a ROM is this:

    stability, stability, stability
    at least 5 screens, though 7 would be nifty
    tethering
    overclocking (I only do it slightly but it helps)
    ability to edit Launcher.apk to set my custom drawer handle graphic back

    Does anyone have a recommendation?
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    See my sig. Also, Bugless Beast is doing well and so is Ultimate Droid (however, they have a minor bug right now with fc's on incoming calls. But I'm sure he will have that worked out in short order). Stay away from CyanMod until they get their recovery issues fixed.

    Chevy's SS 2.03
    Bugless Beast V0.9

    Those are my two favorite ones. And whatever rom you use, you can't go wrong with Chevy's 5 slot kernels.
  3. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    I've been leaning toward BB... I guess I'll take the plunge. HOLD ME!!!:icon_eek:
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Good luck. I don't think Droid Mod is the cause of this issue but get back to us when you're done and let us know.
  5. ThePravus
    Offline

    ThePravus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this same issue. I don't even see missed calls. Nothing ever comes in. Ill get vm notifications hours later or if I pick up the phone to do something. Happened to me in DM BB and stock. Did warranty swap and it still does it. I think its my apartment. Full signal but there must be interference.
  6. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    There is a slight possibility I'm using this as an excuse to get 2.1. slight.


  7. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    Can someone point me toward a thread about installing Chevy's kernal thingie? (I lean toward technical lingo, can you tell?) Searching seems to get me every thread on the forum :/

    [removed other questions because I got BB installed and answered them myself]
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  8. nickphx
    Offline

    nickphx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had this problem with other phones in my area. I was able to adjust the Slot Cycle Index on them and this resolved the problem. The Slot cycle Index tells the phone how often to poll the tower for a call / sms . I have spent the last hour searching the internets for information on how to set the SCI on motorola droid and have come up with nothing. There is not an option under the programming menu (#7764726 ) to change it.. Hopefully someone will chime in.
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    What apps do you have installed? Do you have any app that blocks calls, identifies the caller number/area code etc?

    If so, I have found that a lot of those apps cause the screen to stay dark for an extra period of time while ringing and I had to delete them.
  10. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    None that I know of.
  11. OpalCat
    Offline

    OpalCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston suburbs
    (also, these calls don't show up as missed calls some of the time, and do show up other times. Weird.)
  12. ThePravus
    Offline

    ThePravus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This was happening with a dead stock install for me with no apps. I have full bars in my apartment but they just refuse to come in if i leave the phone idle for too long. It never happens anywhere else. Im moving in 2 months so Im just dealing with it.
  13. jshafer817
    Offline

    jshafer817 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

droid isnt ringing for calls

,

my droid isn't ringing

,

my droid phome isnt ringing

,

my galaxy s3 isnt ringing

,

slot cycle index for motorola droid

,

why isnt my droid x2 ringing

,

why isnt my phone ringing android

,

why isnt my samsung galaxy s3 ringing